The Courier wins seven statewide awards

COLUMBUS – The Courier today won seven statewide awards for journalistic excellence during 2013.

The recognition came from the Ohio Associated Press Media Editors Association, made up of Ohio daily newspapers and broadcast stations that are members of the not-for-profit news service.

• Graphics Editor Jason Smith won second place for best informational graphics. The graphics illustrated a story on Findlay firefighter staffing and how cursive handwriting is losing some favor in schools.

• Smith also won third place for best graphic artist, including work for The Courier and its sister newspaper, the Review-Times of Fostoria.

• Sports Writer Dave Hanneman won second place as best sports columnist.

• Hanneman also won third place as best sports feature writer, including stories about Notre Dame fans awaiting the big game, and major league baseball player Jerry Blevins, formerly of Arcadia, who now pitches for the Washington Nationals.

• City Editor Kurt Leonard won third place as best headline writer, including an entry for his Page A1 caption for a picture of an owl inside a holiday wreath: “Owl be home for Christmas.”

• Sports Editor Jamie Baker and Sports Writer Ted Radick won third place for best sports enterprise, for their stories on the state’s athletic competitive balance plan for high schools.

• Reporter Joy Brown won third place for community service for her stories on the Findlay Police Department’s plan for a new firing range near the city’s reservoirs.

The Courier competed among newspapers with daily circulations of between 13,000 and 24,999. Judging was done by out-of-state newspaper editors.

For 2012, The Courier also won seven awards, including two for first place.

Separately, Courier Editor Peter Mattiace completed a one year-term as president of the Ohio Associated Press Media Editors Association, the new, combined group of AP newspapers and broadcast stations in Ohio.



About the Author