College students awarded scholarships

A number of scholarships administered by the Findlay-Hancock County Community Foundation have been awarded to current college students to help them further their education.
Brittany Schmidt is the recipient of a $1,000 Jeanette T. and Leo J. Vielhaber Scholarship which was established to support the development of professional therapists dedicated to working with disabled children. Schmidt will attend Xavier University to obtain her degree in occupational therapy.
Peyton Ostheimer was awarded one of the Ed Lodico Memorial Scholarship awards for 2014. Ostheimer will receive a $400 scholarship for the University of Findlay to obtain her degree in health science with an emphasis on physical therapy and a minor in gerontology. The Ed Lodico Memorial Scholarship is for a graduate of Hancock County entering at least their third year of college. Michael Lause will also receive a 2014 Ed Lodico Scholarship award in the amount of $1,000. This award will assist in his education at Ohio State University in the College of Medicine. Lause was also awarded the Dr. Thomas Richard and Wendene Wilson Shoupe Scholarship. This $5,000 scholarship provides financial assistance to a deserving student who is pursuing graduate or professional studies.
Hannah Bishop and Morgan McGlothlin have each been awarded the Needler Family Scholarship. Hannah has been awarded a $1,700 scholarship for her junior year at Defiance College and Morgan, who will be a freshman at Ohio Northern University, is the recipient of a $3,300 scholarship. The Needler Family scholarship was established to honor employees of Fresh Encounter, and is available to employees, their children or grandchildren.
This year’s Gail Getway Scholarship, in the amount of $500, was awarded to Emily Miller. She will be a sophomore at Indiana Wesleyan University this fall pursuing a degree in nursing.
The Historic Preservation Guild of Hancock County awarded two $500 scholarships. The awards are going to Hannah Caton, who is pursuing a law degree at the University of Findlay, and Danya Crow, who is pursuing a degree in social studies education at Bowling Green State University. The Historic Preservation Guild Scholarship fund was established to support scholarships for students pursuing a career in the history field.
Tabitha Voglewede is the recipient of the W.S. (Sherman) and Wanda Alge Family Scholarship for Ohio Northern University. She received a $1,000 scholarship, which is renewable for up to two additional years. This scholarship was established to assist students attending Ohio Northern University in pursuit of a law degree.
The Jon A. Schlueter City and County Teacher Scholarships were established through the estate of Jon Schlueter to aid currently licensed and employed teachers in Hancock County in obtaining a master’s or doctorate degree in a field of study for which they will be certified to teach. The County Teacher Scholarship was awarded to Stephanie Myers, a high school intervention specialist with McComb Local Schools, and the City Teacher Scholarship was awarded to Ryan Headley, a high school math teacher with Findlay City Schools. Both will receive a $2,500 scholarship payable to their educational institution.
The Community Foundation also awarded 55 renewal scholarships totaling over $68,000. These scholarships were established to help provide previous recipients with funding for additional years of schooling.



About the Author