Hirschfeld named HPD chairman

Gary Hirschfeld was re-elected chairman of the Hancock Park District commissioners during the board’s meeting Tuesday at Oakwoods Nature Preserve.
Commissioner Scott Younger was re-elected to serve on the Hancock Parks Foundation board.
The board will continue to meet at 3:30 p.m. on the second Tuesday each month in “Doc” Phillips Discovery Center at Oakwoods Nature Preserve, except on Nov. 12, a day later because of Veterans Day.
Separately Tuesday, the park commissioners approved a resolution to pay employees for an additional holiday this year and next. The park district’s personnel manual includes 11 paid holidays. But since Christmas is on Thursday this year and New Year’s Day is on a Thursday in 2015, park district Director Gary Pruitt recommended two additional paid days, Dec. 26 and Jan. 2.
“These additional holidays are temporary,” Pruitt wrote, “and are not considered to be a permanent addition to the normal holiday schedule.”
Separately, Hancock Parks Foundation members held an organizational meeting after the park district’s session.
Eight trustees were re-elected for this year: Ron Rush, Cathy Smith, Kathy Peiffer, Heather Pendleton, Jim Miller, Les Miller, Ed Ingold and Richard Kidwell.
Officers elected include: Rush, board president; Smith, vice president; Peiffer, secretary; and Pendleton, treasurer.
The trustees will meet quarterly, at 7:30 a.m. on April 2, July 9 and Oct. 1, in the Discovery Center.
The parks foundation is a charitable organization which financially supports the park district’s programs and parks.
The foundation is developing a new logo which promotes family, the parks and nature. It will be used on promotional items and other publications.



About the Author