2 Republicans compete for Seneca seat

TIFFIN — Republican voters in Seneca County will nominate a county commissioner candidate on May 6. It is the only race on the primary ballot, according to the county elections board.
Mike Kerschner, 378 W. Lelar St., Tiffin, and Philip Frankart, 4720 S. Seneca County 591, New Riegel, are competing in the Republican primary to replace Commissioner Jeff Wagner, who is not seeking re-election.
No Democrats filed for the seat. Independent candidates have until May 5 to file for the November general election.
County Auditor Julie Adkins and Juvenile/Probate Judge Jay Meyer, both Republicans, are unopposed for re-election.
There are no countywide issues on the ballot, but several school districts and villages are seeking income taxes or property taxes, including:
• Hopewell-Loudon School District, 5.24-mill, five-year emergency renewal levy. The tax generates $570,000 annually.
• Bettsville School District, 2.2-mill, five-year additional emergency levy for current expenses. The tax would generate $50,000 annually.
The district is talking with Old Fort School District about a possible territory transfer. If that happens, the tax will not be collected, according to the Advertiser-Tribune, Tiffin.
On Feb. 6, state Auditor Dave Yost placed the school district in fiscal emergency, according to the newspaper. His office examined the district’s general fund financial forecast and certified an operating deficit of $775,000 for fiscal year 2014 to the state Department of Education. The fiscal year ends June 30.
• Mohawk School District, 1 percent, five-year income tax renewal for expenses. The district is in portions of Wyandot, Seneca and Crawford counties.
• Tiffin School District, 4.67-mill, five-year renewal emergency levy. It generates more than $1.6 million annually.
Also on the ballot in parts of Seneca County will be two issues from neighboring counties:
• Arcadia School District, 1 percent, five-year income tax renewal for expenses. The tax generates about $754,000 annually. The district is located in Hancock and Seneca counties.
• Carey School District, 1 percent, five-year income tax renewal. The tax generated about $1.13 million last year and has averaged about $1 million annually. The district is in Wyandot and Seneca counties.
Maurer: 419-427-8420
Send an E-mail to Jim Maurer



About the Author