Election to decide 2 fair board races

Voting at the Hancock County Fair on Monday will decide two races for seats on the Hancock County Agricultural Society board, also known as the fair board.
Voting will be done from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. Monday in the Grange Building at the fairgrounds. Only people who hold Hancock County Agricultural Society membership tickets can vote.
Brandon Andrews and Dennis Dunbar are competing for a fair board seat that represents Liberty Township. Dunbar has the seat now, while Andrews currently represents Jackson Township on the fair board.
The winner will serve a three-year term.
Three people are competing for one at-large seat on the board. They are Mary “Maggie” Morehart, Matthew Stacy and Matthew Noel. Stacy has the seat now.
The winner will serve a three-year term.
Five other fair board candidates face no opposition on Monday’s ballot.
Thomas Harmon is seeking a board seat representing Allen Township. He now has one of three Findlay seats on the board.
Nicholas Conrad will continue representing Pleasant Township, and Robert Hanna will continue representing Portage Township.
Aaron Smith will continue representing Van Buren Township, and Tom Higbie will continue filling an at-large board seat.
All five will be elected to three-year terms.
No one is running for five other fair board seats, to represent Delaware Township (two-year term), Jackson Township (one-year term), Madison Township (three years), Marion Township (three years), and one Findlay seat on the board (one-year term).
Those vacancies will be filled later by the board. Applicants will be sought for the open seats.
There are 26 seats on the fair board. About one-third of them are up for election each year.


About the Author