No contested races on Wyandot County’s May primary ballot


UPPER SANDUSKY — It will be a sparse primary election ballot in Wyandot County, with three unopposed candidates on the May 8 ballot.

Wyandot County Commissioner Ron L. Metzger, a Republican, is seeking a second, four-year term.

Metzger, 63, of 11306 Richland Township 81, Forest, was appointed by the county Republican Central Committee in June 2012 to replace Mike Wheeler, who resigned. Metzger was elected in November 2012 to complete Wheeler’s unexpired term. Then he was elected to a four-year term in November 2014, which expires at year-end 2018.

Metzger previously was a Richland Township trustee for 10 years and a township clerk for 11 years. He is a self-employed building contractor.

In November, he will be challenged by Democrat Jon Oberhauser, 71, of 16653 Wyandot County Road 3, Alvada, who is unopposed in his party’s primary election.

Commissioners serve a four-year term. The salary will be $48,974, effective Jan. 1.

Independent candidates for the November ballot have until May 7 to file candidacy petitions with the elections board.

County Auditor George “Bill” Kitzler, 54, of 5426 St. Mary’s Ave., Carey, is unopposed in the primary for another four-year term, which begins March 10, 2019.

Kitzler, a Republican, was unopposed in 2014. He was appointed auditor in January 2009 to complete an unexpired term. He was elected to a four-year term in November 2010.

The auditor’s salary for 2019 will be $64,091.

Maurer: 419-427-8420
Send an E-mail to Jim Maurer


About the Author