Division II wrestling: Upper Sandusky pair, Fostoria’s Leonard advance

BOWLING GREEN — Upper Sandusky’s Carson Mengerink and Tylor Pritchard and Fostoria’s Luke Leonard all reached the semifinal round to lead the way for area wrestlers at the Division II district wrestling tournament at Bowling Green State University’s Stroh Center on Friday.
All five Upper Sandusky wrestlers won their first-round bouts as the Rams are seventh in the 46-team field with 28½ points. Toledo Central Catholic has a solid 70-50½ lead over Lexington, Clyde and Oak Harbor who are tied for second place.
Mengerink stopped Lima Bath’s Tre Wheeler (10-6) and Eaton’s Blake Sittloh (11-0) in his two matches at 132 while Pritchard pinned Lexington’s Kendall Kuhn (3:45) and beat Benjamin Logan’s Beau Swank (5-1).
Thurston Dyer (113), Alex Kenner (160) and Dylan Robertson (195) are alive in the consolation bracket for the Rams.
Leonard edged Mansfield Madison’s LeConte Merrell (6-4) and stopped Rossford’s Jacob Burlage (10-3) to advance at 126 pounds for the Redmen.
Lance Smith and Keegan Green (160) are still in the consolations for Fostoria.
The top four finishers in each weight class advance to next week’s OHSAA state tournament.
Wrestling resumes today at 4 p.m.
1, Toledo Central Catholic 73. 2, Lexington, Clyde & Oak Harbor 50½. 5, Sandusky Perkins 47½. 6, Wauseon 46. 7, Upper Sandusky 28½. 8, Tipp City Tippecanoe 27. 9, Defiance 26. 10, Lagrange Keystone 23½. 11, Bay Village Bay 20½. 12, Eaton, Bellevue & Lima Shawnee 18. 15, Springfield Northwestern & Tiffin Columbian 17½. 17, Rocky River 17. 18, Lima Bath 16½. 19, Medina Buckeye 15½. 20, Sandusky 15. 21, Norwalk 14. 22, Napoleon 13½. 23, Elida & Galion 13. 25, Mansfield Madison, Fostoria & Maumee 12. 28, Wapakoneta & Celina 10. 30, Lorain Clearview & Vermilion 9½. 32, Benjamin Logan & Dayton Carroll 9. 34, Bellefontaine & Dayton Thurgood Marshall 8. 36, Sheffield Brookside & Monroe 6. 38, Rossford 5. 39, Clear Fork & Bryan 4. 41, Bowling Green 2. 42, Middletown Fenwick, St. Marys Memorial & Kenton 1. 45, Fairview Park Fairview & Firelands 0.
106 — Josh Venia (Toledo Central Catholic) vs. Eric Bartos (Medina Buckeye); Hunter Lucas (Lima Shawnee) vs. Bruce Hrynciw (Oak Harbor).
113 — Aaron Kelley (Rocky River) vs. Blaine Hunter (Elida); Dylan Mansor (Oak Harbor) vs. Seth Beard (Napoleon).
120 — Colin Ingram (Lima Bath) vs. Nick Bergman (Oak Harbor); Ryan Lantow (Defiance) vs. Juwan Minnifield (Sandusky Perkins).
126 — Devin Rogers (Northwestern) vs. Vince Zitello (Bay); Adam Wilhelm (Carroll) vs. Luke Leonard (Fostoria).
132 — Nate Hagan (Toledo Central Catholic) vs. Carson Mengerink (Upper Sandusky); Wade Hodges (Wauseon) vs. Rhett Petersen (Oak Harbor).
138 — Jeremy Balboa (Oak Harbor) vs. Logan Stiner (Keystone); Jake Mossing (Toledo Central Catholic) vs. Chris Harris (Bellevue).
145 — Ben Petersen (Oak Harbor) vs. Beau Minnick (Clyde); Andy Garwood (Celina) vs. Richard Jackson (Toledo Central Catholic).
152 — Mike Repko (Vermilion) vs. Blake Miller (Clyde); Alex Mossing (Toledo Central Catholic) vs. Connor Rogers (Northwestern).
160 — Tre Campbell (Wauseon) vs. Dom Ruma (Bay); Anthony Arroyo (Maumee) vs. Aldin Leaker (Eaton).
170 — Aaron Schuette (Wauseon) vs. Austin Robbins (Tippecanoe); Seth Williams (Tiffin Columbian) vs. Alex Tetzloff (Sandusky Perkins).
182 — Jacob Worthington (Keystone) vs. Dylan Hermes (Sandusky Perkins); Garit Witt (Clyde) vs. Drew Kasper (Lexington).
195 — John Workman (Sandusky Perkins) vs. Isaiah Margheim (Sandusky); Bailey Faust (Lexington) vs. Marshall Messert (Clyde).
220 — Deaken McCoy (Galion) vs. Tylor Pritchard (Upper Sandusky); Marion Bell (Thurgood Marshall) vs. Chris Norwood (Toledo Central Catholic).
285 — Jquan Fisher (Toledo Central Catholic) vs. John Seibert (Defiance); Collin Mange (Clyde) vs. Nate Temple (Lexington).



About the Author