Girls basketball: Continental’s Ordway is PCL Player of Year

Continental’s Paige Ordway made it two-for-two and Leipsic’s Gary Kreinbrink added to a milestone kind of season when the Putnam County League recently released its all-conference girls basketball selections.
Ordway, who was named the PCL Player of the Year in girls soccer, added player of the year in basketball as well. The senior guard averaged 17.7 points and 3.6 steals for the Pirates.
Kreinbrink was named PCL Coach of the Year after guiding Leipsic to an unbeaten league record (7-0) and the school’s first PCL title since sharing the 2008-09 crown with Kalida. Kreinbrink also achieved his 350th career win when the Vikings beat Miller City 55-35 on Saturday to earn a bid to Thursday’s Division IV district tournament at Lima Senior.
Leipsic’s Amber Gerdeman, who averaged 12 points and 8.5 rebounds, joined Ordway on the all-PCL first team. Seniors Megan Maag of Pandora-Gilboa (17 ppg, 7.4 rpg) and Taylor Mangas of Ottoville were also first-team selections, along with Columbus Grove junior Sydney McCluer (10 ppg) and Kalida sophomore Kylie Osterhage (11.5 ppg, 7.6 rpg).
Leipsic dominated the all-PCL second team, with senior Haley Gerten and juniors Kelly Nadler and Shalynn Morman recognized. Kalida’s Brittany Kahle and Pandora-Gilboa’s Vanessa McCullough completed the second-team selections.

2013-14 All-PCL Girls Basketball
First Team
Sydney McCluer, Jr., Columbus Grove; Paige Ordway, Sr., Continental; Kylie Osterhage, Soph., Kalida; Amber Gerdeman, Sr., Leipsic; Taylor Mangas, Sr., Ottoville; Megan Maag, Sr., Pandora-Gilboa.
PLAYER OF THE YEAR– Paige Ordway, Continental.
COACH OF THE YEAR– Gary Kreinbrink, Leipsic
Second Team
Brittany Kahle, Soph., Kalida; Haley Gerten, Sr., Leipsic; Kelly Nadler, Jr., Leipsic; Shalynn Morman, Jr., Leipsic; Vanessa McCullough, Sr., Pandora-Gilboa.
Honorable Mention
COLUMBUS GROVE — Julie Wynn, Sr.; Rachel Schumacher, Sr. CONTINENTAL — Sloane Zachrich, Sr.; Erica Fitzwater, Sr. FORT JENNINGS — Cassie Lindeman, Sr.; Emily Kehres, Sr. KALIDA — Nicole Recker, Jr.; Elizabeth Turnwald, Sr. LEIPSIC — Rachel Rieman, Sr.; Maddie Steffan, Sr. MILLER CITY — Cassie Niese, Soph. OTTOVILLE — Lexi Wannemacher, Jr.; Brooke Mangas, Fr. PANDORA-GILBOA — Hunter Hermiller, Sr.; Olivia Maag, Sr.
Scholastic Awards Team
COLUMBUS GROVE — Rachel Schumacher. CONTINENTAL — Paige Ordway. FORT JENNINGS — Alyssa Schimmoeller, Cassie Lindeman. KALIDA — Elizabeth Turnwald, Nicole Reindel. LEIPSIC — Maddie Steffan, Hailey Kreinbrink, Nicole Kreinbrink, Amber Gerdeman, Rachel Rieman. OTTOVILLE — Taylor Mangas, Tanya Kaufman. PANDORA-GILBOA — Megan Maag, Vanessa McCullough, Hunter Hermiller, Anna Abelovska.


About the Author