College Track: Ohio Northern men third in OAC meet

BEREA — Cory-Rawson graduate James Rader was a member of Ohio Northern’s second-place 1,600 relay team which ran a 3:20.03 and earned All-Ohio Athletic Conference honors at the OAC outdoor track and field championships on Saturday.
The Polar Bears finished third with 106 points. Mount Union won the men’s competition by a 231-133 margin over John Carroll.
Nate Rosenbaum won the OAC title in the 10,000 with a 31:45.94, Josh Colbert’s leap of 23-2½ earned him the long jump crown and Dan Arkin recorded a 177-0 heave in the javelin to capture the championship in that event.
Phil Farwig, a Liberty-Benton graduate, placed sixth in both the shot put and hammer throw. Farwig threw the shot 47-5¼ and recorded a toss of 148-1 with the hammer.
Van Buren grad Eric Wymer placed seventh in the 1,500 after posting a time of 4:02.29.
ONU’s women placed sixth with 67½ points and were led by Findlay High graduate Catie Huber and North Baltimore alum Brittany Lee, who each earned All-OAC honors in their respective events.
Lee ran the anchor leg of the Polar Bears’ 400 relay team that posted a third-place time of 50.63, while Huber took third in the 1,500 with a 4:41.68.
Catie Huber also teamed up with fellow FHS grad Nicole Huber on the fourth-place 3,200 relay squad that ran a 9:39.40, and Lee helped ONU’s 1,600 relay to a fourth-place finish in a time of 4:07.62.
1, Mount Union 231. 2, John Carrol 133. 3, Ohio Northern 106. 4, Baldwin-Wallace 93. 5, Otterbein 82. 6, Wilmington 71. 7, Muskingum 39. 8, Marietta 34. 9, Heidelberg 19. 10, Capital 10.
1, Mount Union 202. 2, Baldwin-Wallace 160. 3, Otterbein 117½. 4, John Carrol 78. 5, Heidelberg 72. 6, Ohio Northern 67½. 7, Marietta 40. 8, Capital 38. 9, Wilmington 24. 10, Muskingum 17.


About the Author