ONU roundup: Plenty of area athletes earn all-OAC academic honors

ADA — A total of 32 Ohio Northern University athletes were honored as the Ohio Athletic Conference released its spring all-academic selections.
The award winners must be a sophomore or higher in class standing, maintain varsity status and have a cumulative grade-point-average of at least 3.50.
Catie Huber, a Findlay High School graduate, and Liberty-Benton’s Brooke Larsen on the women’s track team and Phil Farwig, a Liberty-Benton product on the men’s track team, made the all-academic list.
Findlay grad Jake Elbin, a member of the Baldwin-Wallace men’s tennis team, also made the OAC all-academic list for the Yellow Jackets.
A total of 302 student-athletes in baseball, softball, men’s and women’s golf, lacrosse, tennis and track and field among the league’s 10 schools received the honor.

Ohio Northern OAC All-Academic
WOMEN’S TRACK — Laura Avino, Emily Blum, Brittany Lang and Brooke Larsen, Catie Huber, Julie Puvogel, Brianna Rambadt, Kara Sosinski.
SOFTBALL — Seniors Bree Hiteshew, Carly McKenzie, Christin Miller, Taylor Manahan, Anne Dreher, Amanda Lahti.
MEN’S GOLF — Pat Helman.
BASEBALL — Derek Lenardos, Alex Crabtree, Ben Glischinski, Cody Meyer, Clay Small, Cal VonStein.
MEN’S TENNIS — Blake Troller, Sam Prewitt, John Mostowy.
WOMEN’S TENNIS — Kristin Cellentani and Taryn Stromback.
WOMEN’S GOLF — Allison Fye.
MEN’S TRACK — Tyler Feitshans, Mathew Johnson, Phil Farwig, Jonathan Roseler, Nate Rosenbaum.

All-region softball
ADA — Ohio Northern University junior Adriana Sikora and senior Christin Miller were named to the all-Central Region teams by the National Fastpitch Coaches Association.
Sikora was a first team selection and Miller was a second team honoree.
Sikora led the OAC this season with 16 home runs, 51 runs scored, 39 RBI, 18 doubles, a 1.016 slugging percentage and a .558 on-base percentage. She led the team and was third in the OAC in batting with a .480 average and started 40 games in right field.
Miller started all 42 games at center field and was second on the team with a .450 batting average while leading the team with 67 hits and 22 stolen bases.
The Polar Bears finished 23-19 overall and won a share of the OAC Regular Season crown with a 12-6 record under first-year head coach Ali Hess.

All-OAC baseball
ADA — Ohio Northern junior outfielder Dan Belliveau and sophomore pitcher Nick Eltzroth were named first team all-OAC as the conference released its all-league baseball teams recently.
Junior outfielder Jack LaMarca and sophomore pitcher Ben Glischinski were named second team all-OAC and sophomore pitcher Zach Maier made the honorable mention list.
Under third year head coach Gene Stechschulte, Ohio Northern went 28-12 and finished tied for fourth in the OAC with an 11-7 mark. The 28 victories were the most since the 1995 season.
All-OAC men’s tennis
ADA — Senior Josh Saunders was named first team all-OAC for Ohio Northern’s men’s tennis team.
Saunders posted a 28-16 record, including a perfect 8-0 mark OAC singles action. He ends his career with a 109-52 record. His 109 wins are 15th most in program history.
Senior Do Thai and sophomore John Mostowy were named second team all-OAC and senior Blake Troller was named honorable mention all-OAC.
All-OAC women’s tennis
ADA — Ohio Northern sophomore Christina Corbean was named first team all-OAC in women’s tennis.
Junior Kristin Cellentani, sophomore Meghan Letizia and sophomore Taryn Stromback were named second team all-OAC and sophomore Rachael Miller was made the league’s honorable mention list.
Corbean posted a 28-21 overall record, playing primarily at No. 1 singles and No. 1 doubles. She went 11-5 overall in OAC play to earn her second straight first team award.
Lovejoy, Rayhill academic all-district
ADA — Ohio Northern wrestler Cody Lovejoy and swimmer Lindsey Rayhill were named Capital One Academic All-District for 2013-14 in voting conducted by the College Sports Information Directors of America.
Lovejoy, a pharmacy major, was also named the 2014 NCAA Division III Wrestling Elite 89 Award winner this season. He is wrestling’s first-ever repeat winner of the prestigious award, given annually to the student/athlete with the highest grade point average at each of the NCAA’s 89 Championships events.
He also won the award as a sophomore in 2013.
Rayhill, a pharmacy major, was named the OAC women’s swimmer of the year this season, after winning seven titles at the 2014 OAC Championships.
Rayhill is the current school record holder in eight events and led the Polar Bears to four consecutive OAC titles in her four years.


About the Author