Prep softball: Kirian tops MAL softball picks

New Riegel’s Taylor Kirian completed the three-peat this season, earning player of the year honors for the third straight time when the 2014 Midland Athletic League all-conference softball selections were released.
Kirian, who has signed a national letter of intent to play for the University of Akron, dominated the MAL stats sheet as few players have. She led the league in hits (57), batting average (.576), runs scored (54), doubles (13), home runs (8), extra-base hits (26) and RBI (46) and tied for second in triples (5).
Kirian was also one of the top pitchers in the league with a 24-5 record, 1.79 ERA and 98 strikeouts in 1752/3 innings pitched.
New Riegel went 25-5 and reached the Division IV regional semifinals. The Blue Jackets were runner-up in the MAL standings, their lone league loss a 9-7 decision to Mohawk. That win not only secured an MAL championship for Mohawk (20-5, 10-0 MAL), it also also resulted in a number of post-season awards, including MAL Coach of the Year honors for Warriors coach Jenny Weinandy.
Mohawk’s Kasey (12-2, 1.68 ERA, 117 strikeouts, .432, 34 RBI) and Julie (8-3, 1.69 ERA, 85 strikeouts, .429, 19 RBI) Adelsperger were first-team picks and the third Adelsperger triplet, Clara (28 RBI) earned second-team honors.
MacKenzie Sowers (.564, 11 RBI) and Taylor McClain (.438, 15 RBI) were also first-team picks for the Warriors, with Cambria Kohlenberg (.388, 17 stolen bases) making the all-MAL second team.
New Riegel’s Kara Scherger (.495, 43 RBI) joined Kirian on the all-MAL first team, along with Carey’s Makenzie Wentling (.424, 36 runs, 19 RBI) and Hannah Draper (.418, 16 RBI), North Baltimore’s Hanna Brian (.540, 11 RBI) and Fostoria St. Wendelin’s Edy Mowrey (.462, 32 RBI).
Completing the all-MAL second team are New Riegel’s Taylor Arbogast (.396, 37 RBI), Morgan Noftz (.414, 20 RBI) and Lauren Zoeller (.426, 35 RBI), Carey’s Ali Rymer (16-5. 2.11 ERA, 78 strikeouts) and St. Wendelin’s Meghan Reiter (.444, 14 RBI.
All-MAL Softball
Taylor Kirian, sr. & Kara Scherger, jr., New Riegel; Julie Adelsperger, sr., Mackenzie Sowers, jr., Kasey Adelsperger, sr. & Taylor McClain, sr., Mohawk; Makenzie Wentling, sr. & Hannah Draper, sr., Carey; Hanna Brian, sr., North Baltimore; Alaina Bickford, sr. & Morgan Gangwer, sr. Edy Mowrey, sr., Fostoria St. Wendelin; Rachel Bauman, sr., Seneca East.
PLAYER OF THE YEAR — Taylor Kirian, New Riegel.
COACH OF THE YEAR — Jenny Weinandy, Mohawk.
Taylor Arbogast, sr., Morgan Noftz, sr. & Lauren Zoeller, sr., New Riegel; Meghan Reiter, jr., Fostoria St. Wendelin; Nicole Bickley, sr. & Nicole Fretz, jr., Tiffin Calvert; Allison Adelsperger, fr., Old Fort; Ashley Burns, sr., Fremont St. Joseph; Clara Adelsperger, sr. & Cambria Kohlenberg, soph., Mohawk; Ali Rymer, sr., Carey; Aubrey Bickford, soph., Lakota; Paige Reichert, soph., Seneca East.
TIFFIN CALVERT — Kate Brickner, sr. & Taylor Ritzler, soph. CAREY — Taylor Fletcher, sr. & Abby Hall, jr. HOPEWELL-LOUDON — Ksaaie Welly, sr. & Kelsey Coppus, sr. LAKOTA — Nikkia Cooper, jr. & Bree Long-Meyer, soph. MOHAWK — Brooke Weinandy, sr. & Charlotte Moes, sr. NEW RIEGEL — Leah Bouillon, jr. & Hailey Theis, jr. NORTH BALTIMORE — Rachel Peters, jr. & Cheyenne Hernandez, soph. OLD FORT — Krista Ward, sr. & Mackenzie Ward, fr. SENECA EAST — Hannah Martin, fr. & Cameil Ruffing, sr. FREMONT ST. JOSEPH — Brianna Reardon, jr. & Brigitte Fulwider, sr. FOSTORIA ST. WENDELIN — Allie Rutter, soph. & Mikayla Gilliland, soph.


About the Author