Academic awards: Midland Athletic League releases scholarship winners, scholar athletes

TIFFIN — Tiffin Calvert’s Olivia Smith and Jason Willman from Seneca East were recipients of Dick Edmond Scholarship Awards in presentations made by the Midland Athletic League athletic directors for the 2013-2014 school year. Each student athlete will receive a $500 scholarship.

Smith, who carried a 3.952 GPA, was a state qualifier in cross country, a two-time 800-meter state champion (2012, 2013) in track and a second-team all-league selection in girls basketball.

Willman was a four-time state qualifier in cross country and three-time state qualifier in track. A 3.9 student, he was all-Ohio in both sports as a sophomore and junior.

The MAL also released a list of scholar athletes for the 2013-14 school year for the final time.

The league, which was created in 1985, dissolved at the end of the school year.

CAREY — Tomas Arredondo, Tyler Breitigam, Hannah Draper, Taylor Fletcher, Sage Gerbers, Haley Hoepf, Devon Huffman, Logan Johnson, Allison Rymer, Shelby Seifert, Jaclyn Troiano, Lauren Wenner, Gwen Wentling, Makenzie Wentling, Victoria Woods. HOPEWELL LOUDON — Marcus Ardner, Allison Arnold, Ben Bodart, Morgan Brant, Hope Brickner, Courtney Burns, Zach Clouse, Aleta Daniel, Ryan Depinet, Colton Feathers, Jarid Gelinas, Nick Scaife, Kassie Shaver, Jordan Stewart, Kassie Welly. MOHAWK — Clara Adelsperger, Julie Adelsperger, Kasey Adelsperger, Emily Daniel, Alex Dundore, Austin Eaton, Aubrie Flood, Collin Fox, Kevin Kozel, Hannah Luhring, Taylor McClain, Mitchell Parker, Bryan Schube, Brooke Weinandy, Brooke Weininger. NEW RIEGEL — Jacob Dryfuse, Alexis Kieffer, Taylor Kirian, Lauren Ladd, Morgan Noftz, Aaron Reinhart, Ruthann Schriener, Lauren Zoeller. — NORTH BALTIMORE — Garrett Boyer, Jasmine Bretz, Dominque Buchanan, Brittany Daughenbaugh, Morgan Schloemp, Chelsea Stewart, Mackenzie Stewart, Cody Switzer. FOSTORIA ST. WENDELIN — Nash Baker, Edy Mowrey, Madison Statham, Gabe Walters, Cole Williams, Taylor Williams.


About the Author