Prep baseball: Miller City’s Lehman nabs PCL Player of the Year honor

Miller City went undefeated in Putnam County League play in 2014 and swept top honors in the all-conference voting as well with Ross Lehman taking home PCL Player of the Year honors and Dusty Pester named coach of the year.

Lehman was Miller City’s ace on the mound, posting a 6-1 record with a 1.94 ERA and 42 strikeouts in 431/3 innings. Pester. 94-46 in his six seasons as Miller City’s head coach, guided the Wildcats to a 7-0 PCL record and the school’s third outright or shared league title since 2009.

Miller City’s Jackson Lammers (.333, 16 RBI) and Hunter Berner (.357, 13-2B, 16 RBI) joined Lehman on the all-PCL first team. Rounding out the group are Columbus Grove’s Josh Verhoff, Continental’s Terry Dockery III (.466), Ryan Rau of Fort Jennings, Kalida’s Brent Hovest (.307, 20 RBI), Ottoville’s Luke Schimmoller and Brandon Boecker and Pandora-Gilboa’s Reed Hovest.


Joshua Verhoff, Columbus Grove; Terry Dockery III, Continental; Ryan Rau, Fort Jennings; Brent Hovest, Kalida; Ross Lehman, Jackson Lammers & Hunter Berner, Miller City; Luke Schimmoeller & Brandon Boecker, Ottoville; Reed Hovest, Pandora-Gilboa.
PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Ross Lehman, Miller City.
COACH OF THE YEAR: Dusty Pester, Miller City.

Riley Brubaker & Elisha Jones, Columbus Grove; Mark Metzger, Fort Jennings; Jeffrey Knueve & Austin Swift, Kalida; Dylan Schey, Leipsic; Jared Fuka & Adam Drummelsmith, Miller City; Dustin Rieman & Brian Schneck, Pandora-Gilboa.

COLUMBUS GROVE — Mason Smith, Reid Stechschulte & Logan Diller. CONTINENTAL — Austin Mansfield, Gabe Williams & Page Thomas. FORT JENNINGS — Dylan VanLoo & Connor Wallenhorst. KALIDA — Noah Lamber, Randy Zeller & Colton Farrell. LEIPSIC — Alex Ellerbrock, Justin Ellerbrock & Gavin Cupp. MILLER CITY — Jeremy Balbaugh. OTTOVILLE — Joseph Vonoss, Kyle Bendele & Joel Beining. PANDORA-GILBOA — Alex Osborn & Jacob Basinger.

CONTINENTAL — Vernon Prowant. KALIDA — Randy Zeller, Andrew Krouse. OTTOVILLE — Cory Honigford, Alex Horstman, Luke Schimmoeller. PANDORA-GILBOA — Seth Schmenk, Brian Schneck, Alex Osborn, Dustin Rieman.



About the Author