The Courier » Prep baseball: O-G’s Miller named WBL Coach of the Year

Prep baseball: O-G’s Miller named WBL Coach of the Year

Ottawa-Glandorf’s Nick Miller was named the Western Buckeye League Coach of the Year in baseball as the Western Buckeye League released its all-conference selections for the 2014 season.

Miller earned the award after leading the Titans to their first WBL title in 32 years. The Titans finished 8-1 in league play and 19-9 overall.

Ottawa-Glandorf’s Brad Croy and Tanner Schimmoeller were first-team selections. Matt Warnecke and Tyler Zender were second- and third-team picks, while Drew Schierloh made the league’s honorable mention list.

St. Marys Memorial’s Isaac Fitzgerald was selected as the WBL Player of the Year.

Ottawa-Glandorf pitcher Megan Kitchen earned first-team honors in softball.

Kitchen, who had a terrific season, led the Titans to a second-place finish behind Division II state champion Lima Bath in the league, a school-record 20-5, and O-G’s first-ever trip to the regional softball tournament.

Ottawa-Glandorf’s Stephanie Hempfling landed a spot on the second team, while Michelle Sdao and Kristen Miller were third-team picks. Lindsey Prichard made the honorable mention list for the Titans.

Lima Bath’s Kimmy Reynolds was named the WBL Player of the Year. The Wildcats’ Hannah Slavin earned the coach of the year award.


Isaac Fitzgerald & Tristan Becker, St. Marys Memorial; Austin Hancock, Defiance; Adam Henderson & Chace Culver, Wapakoneta; Brad Croy & Tanner Schimmoeller, Ottawa-Glandorf; Eric Heffner, Lima Bath; William Kleffner, Lima Shawnee; Collin Gossard, Lima Bath.
PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Isaac Fitzgerald, St. Marys Memorial.
COACH OF THE YEAR: Nick Miller, Ottawa-Glandorf.

Jared Knous, St. Marys Memorial; Dom Gentile, Defiance; Adam Purdy, Elida; Matt Warnecke, Ottawa-Glandorf; Kodi Morgan & Chandler Kaeck, Wapakoneta; Kaleb Kuhn, Celina; Trevor Anderson, Lima Shawnee; Eric Jordan, Lima Bath.

Tristan Reichelderfer, Kenton; Shay Smiddy, Defiance; Tyler Zender, Ottawa-Glandorf; Zack Wilker, St. Marys Memorial; Tyler Williams, sr., Van Wert; Tyler Weaver, Defiance; Max Stambaugh, Elida; Bronson Best, sr., Lima Bath; Chase Wilder, Lima Shawnee.

Derek Turner, Defiance; Seth Conover, Kenton; Jacob Homan, Celina; Dew Schierloh, Ottawa-Glandorf; Austin Brachok, Lima Shawnee; Justin Murphy, Elida; Quinn Lotridge, Wapakoneta; Hunter Weis, Lima Bath; Nathan Vogel, St. Marys Memorial; Ryan Stoller, Van Wert.


Jenna Hollar, Kimmy Reynolds & Julia Miller, Lima Bath; Renee Lovett, Wapakoneta; Megan Kitchen, Ottawa-Glandorf; Kaity Kuhn, Celina; Sabrina Kline & Michaela Black, Elida; Kay Shick, Lima Shawnee; Emily Turner, Defiance.
PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Kimmy Reynolds, Lima Bath.
COACH OF THE YEAR: Hannah Slavin, Lima Bath.

Blashia Moyler & Sierra Sammons, Wapakoneta; Stephanie Hempfling, Ottawa-Glandorf; Callie Vogel & Alexis Zacharias, Celina; Anna Riggenbach, Defiance; Alyssa Manley, Lima Bath; Kierstan Courtney, Lima Shawnee; Kateri Steinecker, Van Wert.

Michelle Sdao, Ottawa-Glandorf; Mallory Kill, St. Marys Memorial; Kara Dientsberger, Lima Bath; Alexis Schwartz, Wapakoneta; Kriisten Miller, Ottawa-Glandorf; Hannah Taylor, Lima Shawnee; Brooklyn Miller, Defiance; Catie Shroyer, Elida; Kaylee Burd, Kenton.

Ellie Dackin, Lima Bath; Stephanie Walter, Celina; Laura Schrag, Defiance; Jenna Halpern, Elida; Hannah Legge, Kenton; Lindsey Prichard, Otttawa-Glandorf; McKayla Wolff, Lima Shawnee; Allison Langsdon, St. Marys Memorial; Brooke Brown, Van Wert; Megan Fisher, Wapakoneta.


About the Author