Prep tennis: Five Findlay tennis players earn all-conference awards

TOLEDO — Five Findlay High players, all runner-ups in the Three Rivers Athletic Conference tournament, earned first- and second-team honors in the 2014 all-TRAC boys tennis selections.

Reid Teatsorth and Max MacDonald were first-team picks in balloting by TRAC coaches. Jake Elbin, Ian Laird and Brent Gorman made the all-league second team.

Teatsorth, MacDonald and Elbin finished second at No. 1, No. 2 and No. 3 singles, respectively in the TRAC tournament. Teatsorth also was runner-up in the district meet, and capped a 25-6 season with an appearance in the Division I state tournament.

Laird and Gorman were TRAC runners-up at No. 1 doubles. Findlay’s No. 2 doubles team of Hyunchul Lee and Logan Sullivan received honorable mention all-league recognition.

Teatsorth was also first-team all-district and honorable mention all-Ohio. MacDonald (23-6) was second-team all-district, while Elbin, Laird and Gorman received honorable mention all-district recognition.

Toledo St. John’s won the 2014 TRAC tennis title and had five first-team all-league picks. Top honors, though, went to Toledo Central Catholic’s Dugan Delp, who was named TRAC Player of the Year for the third straight time, and Mark Faber of Toledo St. Francis, who was tabbed TRAC Coach of the Year.


TOLEDO CENTRAL CATHOLIC — Dugan Delp. FINDLAY — Reid Teatsorth, Max MacDonald. TOLEDO ST. FRANCIS — Tyler Gargas, Louis Filipiak. TOLEDO ST. JOHN’S — Adam Zychowicz, Kevin Brown, Rajeev Laungani, Ryan Brown, Jonah Carter.
PLAYER OF THE YEAR — Dugan Delp, Toledo Central Catholic.
COACH OF THE YEAR — Mark Faber, Toledo St. Francis

TOLEDO CENTRAL CATHOLIC — London Klucas. FINDLAY — Jake Elbin, Ian Laird, Brent Gorman. FREMONT ROSS — Robert Joerg, Nate Rellinger. TOLEDO ST. FRANCIS — Lucas Kasper, Tom Manahan. TOLEDO ST. JOHN’S — Trevor Majdalani, Ryan Issa.

TOLEDO CENTRAL CATHOLIC — Drew Dominiak. OREGON CLAY — Jared Lutz. FINDLAY — Hyunchul Lee, Logan Sullivan. FREMONT ROSS — Connor Martin, Dylan Willey. LIMA SENIOR — Kane Vastano, Brian Frueh. TOLEDO ST. FRANCIS — Alec Huss, Javier Gomez, Ethan Bevington. TOLEDO WHITMER — Matt Gullett, Jeff Zolciak.



About the Author