Local Roundup: Huntington’s Palmer named first-team All-American

HUNTINGTON, Ind. — Huntington University senior Miranda Palmer, an Arcadia High School graduate, has been named first-team All-America in NAIA women’s basketball.

Palmer, a 5-foot-6 guard who was also named the Crossroads League Player of the Year while making first-team all-league for the third time, led the Foresters in points (21.3 per game), assists (3.7) and steals (1.9) and also snared 2.9 rebounds per game. Her scoring average ranked fourth in the country.

Palmer’s first-team All-America honor came after she made the second team as a junior and gained honorable mention as a sophomore.

Palmer finished her career as Huntington’s career scoring leader with 2,173 points, good for a 17.1 average.

She’s also the school record holder for most points in a game (48), most field goals in a game (18) and most points in a season (659).

Armstrong on All-Ohio 3rd team

Record-setting Findlay High School forward Brandon Armstrong capped his prep career by earning third-team honors in all-Ohio hockey selections released recently.

Armstrong set single-season records his senior year for goals (69), assists (46) and total points (115). Those numbers boosted his career school records to 153 goals, 126 assists and 279 total points.

Sophomore defenseman Reid Perry received honorable mention all-Ohio honors for Findlay, which went 22-12-2 and reached the district semifinals of the OHSAA tournament.

Wagner named first team NWOAL

Patrick Henry senior Katie Wagner was a first-team selection as the Northwest Ohio Athletic League released its girls all-league team.
Wagner averaged 11.3 points, 3.3 rebounds and 2.1 assists per game for the Patriots.
Archbold’s Kierstyn Repp (15.5 points, 4.2 rebounds per game) was named NWOAL Player of the Year. Also on the first team were Delta’s Maddie Mattimore, Swanton’s Haley Nelson, Bryan’s Allye Minor and Archbold’s Kamryn Hostetler. Swanton’s Eric Oakes was named Coach of the Year.
Patrick Henry senior Courtney Rosebrook (9.1 points, 7.9 rebounds) was a second-team selection. Senior Natalie Herder (8.0 points, 7.0 rebounds) was named honorable mention.


Kierstyn Repp, sr., Archbold; Maddie Mattimore, jr., Swanton, Allye Minor, jr. Bryan; Katie Wagner, sr., Patrick Henry; Kamryn Hostetler, jr., Archbold.

PLAYER OF THE YEAR — Kierstyn Repp, sr., Archbold.

COACH OF THE YEAR — Eric Oakes, Swanton,

Morgan Miller, sr., Archbold; Abby Freeman, soph., Delta; Sidney Taylor, jr. Swanton; Kennedy Lamberson, soph., Bryan; Alyssa Noe, sr., Evergreen; Courtney Rosebrook, sr., Patrick Henry.

ARCHBOLD — Andi Peterson, soph.; Emie Peterson, jr.; Alyssa Ziegler, sr. BRYAN — Delaney Miller, sr. DELTA — Hayley Callahan, sr. EVERGREEN — Abi Borojevich, fr.; Hannah Herr, jr. LIBERTY CENTER — Sydni Altman, jr.; Meghan Skeens, jr.; Peyton Spieth, jr. PATRICK HENRY — Natalie Herder, sr. SWANTON — Cydney Christenson, jr.; Ally Hendricks, jr. WAUSEON — Rylee Campbell, jr.; Brianna Castellano, soph.

UF lacrosse beats St. Thomas Aquinas

Seven different players scored for the University of Findlay women’s lacrosse team in its 9-7 victory over St. Thomas Aquinas (NY) on Friday at the Armstrong Sports Complex.

Jacelyn Litman and Hannah Peebles each scored twice, one apiece in each half, as the Oilers improved to 2-4 overall.

Findlay took a 5-3 edge into halftime and led the rest of the way.

Graceann Conte, Kyra Bradley, Emma Spellman, Allison Kelly and Ciara Burud also scored for the Oilers.

Claire Ferrell got the win in net, allowing seven goals in 13 shots faced.

Jennifer Farrell recorded a hat trick for the Spartans (1-4).


About the Author