Finalists Announced In Ohio APME Newspaper Contest

COLUMBUS, Ohio (AP) — DIVISION IV, Newspapers with daily circulation of 25,000 to 74,999

Best Headline Writer: Jeff Verbus, The (Canton) Repository; Richard Logan, The (Youngstown) Vindicator; Matt Arnold, The (Youngstown) Vindicator.

Best Business Writer: Shane Hoover, The (Canton) Repository; Jamison Cocklin, The (Youngstown) Vindicator; Edd Pritchard, The (Canton) Repository.

Best Columnist: David Trinko, The Lima News; Laura Kessel, The (Willoughby) News-Herald; Charita Goshay, The (Canton) Repository.

Best Editorial Writer: Richard Logan, The (Youngstown) Vindicator; Jim Krumel, The Lima News; Gayle Beck, The (Canton) Repository.

Best Feature Writer: Ashley Luthern, The (Youngstown) Vindicator; Tim Botos, The (Canton) Repository; Todd Franko, The (Youngstown) Vindicator.

Best Graphics Artist: Ricky Darbey, The (Youngstown) Vindicator; Craig J. Orosz, The Lima News; Robert McFerren, The (Youngstown) Vindicator.

Best Sports Columnist: Ed Puskas, The (Youngstown) Vindicator; Joe Scalzo, The (Youngstown) Vindicator; Steve Doerschuk, The (Canton) Repository.

Best Sports Feature Writer: Jim Naveau, The Lima News; Joe Scalzo, The (Youngstown) Vindicator; Josh Weir, The (Canton) Repository.

Best Sports Writer: Guy Cipriano, The (Willoughby) News-Herald; Steve Doerschuk, The (Canton) Repository; Joe Scalzo, The (Youngstown) Vindicator.

Best Photographer: Scott Heckel, The (Canton) Repository; William Lewis, The (Youngstown) Vindicator; Jeff Forman, The (Willoughby) News-Herald.

Best News Writer: Kelli Young, The (Canton) Repository; Matthew Rink, The (Canton) Repository; Joe Gorman, The (Youngstown) Vindicator.

Best Sports Event Coverage: The (Canton) Repository, “State Football Finals”; The (Willoughby) News-Herald, “Boys Basketball State Tournament”; Kevin Connelly and Peter Milliken, The (Youngstown) Vindicator, “Death of Sharon High School Football Players.”Best Sports Enterprise: Todd Porter, The (Canton) Repository, “OHSAA Competitive Balance”; Josh Weir, The (Canton) Repository, “Concussions in Football”; Mark Podolski and Chris Lillstrung, The (Willoughby) News-Herald, “50 for 50.”

Best Special Sports Section: The Lima News, “2013 High School Football Preview”; The (Willoughby) News-Herald, “Mentor High School State Champs”; The (Willoughby) News-Herald, “High School Football Preview.”

Best Daily Sports Section: The (Willoughby) News-Herald, The (Canton) Repository, The (Youngstown) Vindicator.

Best Informational Graphics: Robert McFerren, The (Youngstown) Vindicator, “Mill Creek Makeover”; Robert McFerren, The (Youngstown) Vindicator, “The Great Flood of 1913”; Bob Kast, The (Canton) Repository, “Energy From Rock.”

Best Illustration: Michael Weiss, The (Canton) Repository, “Your Brain on Football”; Craig J. Orosz, The Lima News, “Bills of Health”; Michael Weiss, The (Canton) Repository, “Hall of Fame Collage.”

Best Breaking News Photo: Craig Orosz, The Lima News, “Picking Up the Pieces”; Craig Orosz, The Lima News, “It’s a Miracle. They Saved her Life”; Madelyn Hastings, The (Youngstown) Vindicator, “2 Kids Die in I-76 Accident.”

Best General News Photo: John Stoops, The Lima News, “Remembering Tara”; Jeff Forman, The (Willoughby) News-Herald, “Immigration Vigil”; Duncan Scott, The (Willoughby) News-Herald, “T.J. Lane Killer.”

Best Feature Photo: Robert Yosay, The (Youngstown) Vindicator, “On the Right Trek”; Scott Heckel, The (Canton) Repository, “A Dab Will Do Ya”; Craig Orosz, The Lima News, “Fall Fun Day.”

Best Sports Photo: Richard Parrish, The Lima News, “Grabbing Golds”; Scott Heckel, The (Canton) Repository, “Rainout”; William Lewis, The (Youngstown) Vindicator, “Varsity Blues.”

Best Photo Essay: The Lima News, “Big Ideas on Lima’s Big Day”; William Lewis, The (Youngstown) Vindicator, “Kaitlin Windt”; Craig Orosz, The Lima News, “Awesome With or Without His ‘Legs.'”

Best Community Service: The Lima News, “State of the State”; The (Youngstown) Vindicator, “Drugs in the Mahoning Valley”; Tim Botos, The (Canton) Repository, “The Bill of Rights.”

Best Special Section: The (Canton) Repository, “Hall of Fame Festival Preview”; Robert McFerren, The (Youngstown) Vindicator, “The Great Flood of 1913”; The Lima News,

“Best of the Region.”

Best Breaking News Coverage: The Lima News, “Cop Stabbed; Officer Shoots Attacker”; The (Willoughby) News-Herald, “Life in Prison for Chardon High Shooting”; The (Youngstown) Vindicator, “Car Crash Kills 3.”

Best Explanatory Reporting: David S. Glasier, The (Willoughby) News-Herald, “Heroin in the Suburbs”; Heather Rutz, The Lima News, “Mayors’ Responsibilities Vary by Town”; The (Youngstown) Vindicator, “Murder of Teddy Foltz.”

Best Enterprise Reporting: David Skolnick, The (Youngstown) Vindicator, “$1,117,000 Spent on City Studies”; Kate Malongowski, The Lima News, “Choosing a Utility Supplier”; Tim Botos, The (Canton) Repository, “11 Hours in Room 407.”

Best Investigative Reporting: Jamison Cocklin, The (Youngstown) Vindicator, “What is Going On at 2761 Salt Springs Road?”; Tim Botos, The (Canton) Repository, “Stark Metropolitan Housing Authority”; Matthew Rink and Kelli Young, The (Canton) Repository, “Taking Away the Badge.”

Best Full Page Layout: Denise Hunter, The Lima News, “Who We Are”; Michael Weiss, The (Canton) Repository, “Hall of Fame Coloring Page”; Robert McFerren, The (Youngstown) Vindicator.

Best Page One Layout: Robert McFerren, The (Youngstown) Vindicator; The Lima News; The (Canton) Repository.

Best Use of Multimedia: The (Youngstown) Vindicator, “Vindy Talk Radio”; David Trinko and Heather Rutz, The Lima News, “Municipal Salaries 2012”; Ben Duer, The (Canton) Repository, “Reciting the Bill of Rights.”




About the Author
Advertisment ad adsense adlogger