Hancock County Probate Judge Kristen Johnson will decide which of two candidates will join the Van Buren school board, after the board was unable pick one this week.

In a statement provided to The Courier by Superintendent Tim Myers, the school board said it “has faced a difficult challenge as we were presented with two extremely competent and talented candidates. Unfortunately, the board is unable to reach a decision in favor of one candidate and is now at an impasse.”

Under consideration are Scott Grant and Karen Flanagan, Myers said.

Flanagan previously served on the school board for 12 years. Grant is an assistant professor of business at the University of Findlay and used to be Van Buren’s athletic director.

There are currently four board members: Michael Leifheit, Jeff Salisbury, Kim Thomas and Jim Griffith. Grant or Flanagan will replace Dolores Cramer, who resigned due to moving out of the school district.