BOWLING GREEN — Wood County voters resoundingly approved a 10-year park district levy Tuesday.

According to unofficial totals from the Wood County Board of Elections, renewal of the existing 1-mill levy for the Wood County Park District passed by 14,462 votes to 5,207 (74 percent to 26 percent). Absentee ballots were included.

According to park officials, the park levy funds maintenance, staffing and acquisitions.

The tax brings in $1.9 million a year. A person with a home appraised at $100,000 pays $30 a year for the levy, according to the Wood County Auditor’s Office.

Separately, Wood County voters who live in the Patrick Henry School District apparently decided against renewing an emergency levy that generates $746,765 annually for school operations. The renewal would have been for three years, first due in 2019.

The levy was defeated by an overall count of 545 against to 533 for.

The county breakdown was Wood County, two for and 13 against; Henry County, 526 for and 529 against; and Putnam County, five for and three against.

An emergency levy generates a fixed dollar amount, so the millage changes as property values change. The rate is estimated at 4.2 mills on the May ballot.

The levy would cost $128 per year for the owner of a home appraised at $100,000.

The same tax proposal failed in November by a vote of 731 to 718, according to results from all three counties.

State issue, races

Here’s how Wood County voted on the statewide issue and races:

  • State Issue 1, establishing a new process for congressional redistricting: 14,207 yes; 4,701 no.
  • Republican governor: Mike DeWine, 6,230; Mary Taylor, 4,120.
  • Democratic governor: Richard Cordray, 4,589; Larry Ealy, 91; Dennis Kucinich, 1,431; Bill O’Neill, 188; Paul Ray, 136; Joe Schiavoni, 503.
  • Republican state treasurer: Sandra O’Brien, 3,286; Robert Sprague, 5,463.
  • Republican U.S. Senate: Melissa Ackison, 1,437; Don Elijah Eckhart, 494; Mike Gibbons, 3,544; Dan Kiley, 444; Jim Renacci, 2,513.

Other statewide candidates were unopposed in Tuesday’s primary election.

Schaadt: 419-427-8414
Send an E-mail to Eric Schaadt
Twitter: @SchaadtEric