Staff Writer

NAPOLEON — For Patrick Henry School District officials, the third time was the charm Tuesday for passage of a renewal levy to fund general expenses.

Voters approved a 4.2-mill renewal levy for three years.

According to the Henry County Auditor’s Office, the levy brings in $746,765 a year.

The overall vote total showed the levy passed by a margin of 1,274 votes to 911.

The county breakdown was: Henry County, 1,261 for to 886 against; Wood County, eight for to 18 against; and Putnam County, five for to seven against.

Vote tabulations by the Henry County Board of Elections were unofficial and included absentee ballots.

In November 2017, the levy renewal lost by 16 votes, and last May the request was rejected by four votes.

“I am thankful for the support of the voters in our school district,” newly minted Patrick Henry Superintendent Josh Biederstedt said Tuesday.

“Passing this levy now gives us the opportunity to use the pipeline money to make some needed capital improvements in our district at little or no additional cost to our taxpayers.”

First approved in 2012 and again in 2015, the tax pays for general operations.

Commissioner contest

In the lone contested county race in Henry County, Commissioner Thomas Vondeylen, a Republican, won re-election by collecting 6,531 votes compared to 1,635 for independent candidate Eric Norden, and 2,380 for Democrat Penny Snodgrass.

All three reside in Napoleon.

State issue, candidates

Here’s how Henry County voted on the state issue and statewide races:

• State Issue 1, to reduce criminal penalties for obtaining, possessing and using illegal drugs: Yes, 2,328. No, 8,318.

• Governor: Republican Mike DeWine, 7,168; Democrat Richard Cordray, 3,051; Libertarian Travis Irvine, 237; Constance Gadell-Newton of Green Party, 143.

• U.S. senator: Republican Jim Renacci, 6,032; Democratic Sen. Sherrod Brown, 4,410.

• State attorney general: Democrat Steve Dettelbach, 3,168; Republican Dave Yost, 7,099.

• State auditor: Libertarian Robert Coogan, 408; Republican Keith Faber, 7,082; Democrat Zack Space, 2,824.

• Secretary of state: Democrat Kathleen Clyde, 3,067; Republican Frank LaRose, 6,986; Libertarian Dustin Nanna, 275.

• State treasurer: Republican Robert Sprague, 7,306; Democrat Rob Richardson, 2,990.

• Ohio Supreme Court seat: Republican Craig Baldwin, 3,147; Democrat Michael Donnelly, 4,935.

• Ohio Supreme Court seat: Democrat Melody Stewart, 3,718; Republican Justice Mary DeGenaro, 4,185.

Schaadt: 419-427-8414

Send an E-mail to Eric Schaadt