Republicans made the vaunted blue wave look like a joke in Ohio, winning five Ohio House districts which encompass Seneca, Wood, Allen, Putnam, Henry and Wyandot counties in Tuesday’s general election.

Republican incumbent Bill Reineke won re-election with 66 percent of the vote over Democrat Rachel Crooks to represent Ohio’s 88th House District, which includes Sandusky County and part of Seneca County.

Reineke received 25,680 votes to 13,232 votes for Crooks.

Reineke is a member of the family that owns and operates Reineke car dealerships.

Republican incumbent Theresa Gavarone won re-election over Democrat Aidan Hubbell-Staeble in Ohio’s 3rd House District, which includes only Wood County.

She received 29,759 votes, or 62 percent, to 18,058 votes for Hubbell-Staeble.

Gavarone, 52, of Bowling Green, was first appointed to the post by a statehouse screening panel to replace fellow Republican Tim Brown, who resigned in July 2016. She was then elected to the position in November 2016.

In Ohio’s 4th House District, which is Allen County, Republican incumbent Robert Cupp won 73 percent of the vote and re-election over Democrat Tristam Cheeseman.

Cupp received 25,620 votes to 9,438 votes for Cheeseman.

Cupp, 67, previously has been an Ohio Supreme Court justice, a state senator, Allen County commissioner, and Lima prosecutor.

In Ohio’s 81st House District, Republican Jim Hoops wrested nearly 75 percent of the vote to defeat Democrat Janet Breneman. The district includes Putnam, Henry and Williams counties and the southeast corner of Fulton County.

Hoops received 32,419 votes to 10,992 for Breneman.

Hoops, 59, of Napoleon, was appointed to the 81st District seat after former Rep. Rob McColley went to the Ohio Senate last fall.

In the 87th Ohio House District, Republican incumbent Riordan McClain won 72.7 percent of the vote, defeating Democrat Mary Pierce-Broadwater. The district includes Wyandot County, the southwest corner of Seneca County and all or part of three other counties.

McClain was appointed to fill the seat of Wes Goodman, who resigned in 2017 due to a sex scandal.

Wilin: 419-427-8413 Send an E-mail to Lou Wilin