Three candidates will compete for the Republican nomination for Findlay mayor in the May 7 primary election, and the winner will face a Democrat in the November general election.

There also will be contested Republican races in May for the three at-large council seats, as well as the city’s 5th Ward and 1st Ward council seats.

Wednesday was the deadline for party candidates to file for the primary election.

Write-in candidates have until 4 p.m. Feb. 25 to file for the primary ballot. Independents have until 4 p.m. May 6 to file for the general election ballot.

Holly Frische, 1325 Shady Lane; Christina Muryn, 2033 Old Mill Road; and Brian Robertson, 218 Penbrooke Drive, will square off for the Republican Party nomination for mayor on May 7.

In November, the GOP winner will face Democrat Chad Benschoter, 501 Edinborough Drive.

Frische has served as the city’s 1st Ward council member since 2013.

Muryn is the director of business and physician development for the Pain Management Group, Findlay.

Robertson is serving his second term as a Hancock County commissioner. He is the president of MBDS, a manufacturing company headquartered in Findlay.

The Republican primary contest for three at-large council seats has five candidates, including the three incumbents.

Nada G. Jordan, 2231 Saratoga Drive, and Matthias Leguire, 830 E. Sandusky St., will challenge Republican incumbents Grant Russel, 1200 S. Main St.; Jeff Wobser, 8418 Lakebrook Drive; and Tom Shindledecker, 2201 N. Main St.

The top three vote-getters will compete with Democrat Abigail Hefflinger, 1018 Liberty St., in November for three seats on council.

Three Republicans will compete in May for Findlay’s 5th Ward council seat: Randy Greeno, 824 S. Cory St.; David Spitler, 1906 Sherry St.; and Brian Bauman, 1845 Eggleston Ave.

The 5th Ward seat is currently held by Republican John Harrington, who is running unopposed for council president. Harrington will replace Council President Ron Monday, who is not seeking another term.

Monday is currently serving as interim mayor after the resignation of Lydia Mihalik, who was named last month to head a state agency.

In the 1st Ward council race, Republicans Angela Deboskey, 1440 Fostoria Ave., and Charles “Bud” Haas Jr., 616 E. Foulke Ave., will compete to replace Frische on council.

No candidates filed to run for the 3rd Ward council seat currently held by Dina Ostrander. Write-in or independent candidates can still seek the post.

Other candidates on the Findlay ballot will be unopposed in the primary election.

They include Councilman Dennis Hellmann, R-2, 720 Timber View Drive; Councilman James P. Slough, R-4, 304 Greenlawn Ave.; Councilman James Niemeyer, R-6, 1004 W. Sandusky St.; and Republican council candidate Joshua V. Palmer, 2306 Beecher St., who is running for the 7th Ward seat currently held by Tim Watson.

Also unopposed in May are Republican City Auditor James D. Staschiak, 1000 Washington Ave.; and Republican City Law Director Donald J. Rasmussen, 2330 Windsong.

Maurer: 419-427-8420

Send an E-mail to Jim Maurer