Staff Writer

Voters in the Arcadia, Cory-Rawson, Van Buren and Vanlue school districts decided board races on Tuesday.

Other school board candidates in the county were unopposed Tuesday, and some boards will have empty seats to fill by appointment.

Vote totals are unofficial and include absentee ballots.


Arcadia’s board had two open seats, which three non-incumbents ran for.

Three write-in candidates ran, and Lindsey Boes and John Sparks won with 329 and 250 votes, respectively.

Mark Bowman received 103 votes.


Incumbent Jason Oman was re-elected to the school board with 475 votes, and Michael Walters will join him, having received 453 votes.

Stephanie Stauffer trailed with 211 votes.

Van Buren

Van Buren had a race for an unexpired school board term ending on Dec. 31, 2021, which Melinda Williams won with 148 votes to Kristen Deerwester’s 43 votes.

Four candidates had filed to run for two four-year terms, but Gina Campbell and Robert Campbell withdrew from the race.

Incumbents Kimberly Thomas (1,239 votes) and Jeff Salisbury (97 votes) were re-elected.

All of the Van Buren candidates except Thomas were write-ins.


Vanlue had a contested race for two four-year school board terms, but no candidate for an unexpired term ending Dec. 31, 2021.

Jonathan Thomas and Eric Hausserman won the full terms with 163 and 151 votes, respectively.

Angelia Crowe, who was appointed to the board about two years ago, received 108 votes.

Crowe said before the election that she did not mean to run against Hausserman and Thomas, but due to some confusion between her and the board of elections, she filed for the four-year terms rather than the unexpired term.

Rubright: 419-427-8417
Send an E-mail to kathrynerubright
Twitter: @kerubright