UPPER SANDUSKY — Wyandot County voters on Tuesday approved a 1-mill, five-year additional levy for the county’s Council on Aging programs by a vote of 2,287 to 1,204.

The new tax will generate $565,905 a year, according to Wyandot County Auditor George “Bill” Kitzler. A property owner with a $100,000 market value (appraised) residence will pay about $35 annually.

Wyandot County vote totals were not available until Wednesday because of computer software problems with new equipment.

All vote totals from Wyandot County and area election boards are unofficial and include absentee ballots.

Elsewhere in the county:

• Riverdale School District residents, including voters in portions of Wyandot, Hancock and Hardin counties, approved a 1 percent, three-year income tax renewal, with 809 votes for the tax and 375 votes against it. The issue passed in all three counties: Wyandot, 167-109; Hancock, 348-139; and Hardin, 294-127. The district uses the revenue for operating expenses.

• Forest-Jackson Public Library, which serves the Riverdale School District, won renewal of a 0.7-mill, five-year levy for operating expenses with 882 votes in favor and 298 votes against. The issue passed in all three counties: Wyandot, 187-84; Hancock, 356-130; and Hardin, 339-84.

• Two issues in the village of Marseilles — a 2-mill, five-year renewal levy, and a 1.8-mill, five-year renewal levy — passed unanimously, 22-0. Both issues

are for village operating expenses.

• In Richland Township, voters approved renewal of a 0.5-mill, five-year levy for the volunteer fire department, 141 in favor, 28 against.

• In Tymochtee Township, voters renewed a 2-mill, five-year levy for the volunteer fire department, 155 in favor, 54 against.

Candidate races

Five Carey School District residents filed as write-in candidates for two school board seats. Two new members, Ray Conti and Shawn Burgei, were elected and will join the board in January.

Burgei received 161 votes, and Conti got 191 votes.

Other candidates were incumbent Greg McCartney, 97 votes; Julie Nye, 144 votes; and Michael Rickle II, 77 votes.

Board member Mike Roszman did not seek another four-year term.

Separately, incumbents were reelected to two seats on Upper Sandusky school board.

They are: Gary Book, 1,144 votes; and James Morris, 991 votes. Others on the ballot were Ana Barth, 631 votes; and Andrew Voorheis, 599 votes.

Among townships in The Courier’s circulation area, there were contests for trustee posts in Mifflin and Tymochtee townships.

In Mifflin Township, Dustin Stansbery got 103 votes and captured the one trustee seat. Other candidates were: Jack Leslie, 57 votes; and Doug Maltsbarger, 44 votes.

In Tymochtee Township, Bob Weyand, with 145 votes, was elected to the trustee seat. Kevin Thiery received 59 votes.

Maurer: 419-427-8420

Send an E-mail to Jim Maurer