COLUMBUS — St. Wendelin’s Kamryn Troike is making two encore appearances this week, one in the state semifinals, the other as Ohio’s Division IV co-Player of the Year.

Troike, who has led St. Wendelin to the state semifinals for the second straight year, shared Division IV Player of the Year honors with Hannibal River’s Jensen Caretti and Deja Winters of Richmond Heights. She was also one of three players sharing the title in 2015.

Troike, who surpassed 2,000 career points in Saturday’s 37-29 regional final win over Fayette, averaged 25.4 points, 12.3 rebounds and almost five blocked shots a game. The 6-foot-4 senior, had 22 double-doubles in 28 games for the Mohawks (25-3), who will face Jackson Center (21-7) at 3 p.m. on Friday in the Division IV state semifinals.

Arlington’s Whitney Dodds earned second-team all-Ohio honors and Carey’s Sydney Wentling was a third-team selection.

Dodds, a 5-7 junior, averaged 15.1 points, 5.3 rebounds, 4.2 assists and 2.4 steals in leading Arlington to a 21-1 regular-season record and a No. 1 ranking in The Associated Press state poll. Carey also went 21-1 during the regular season with Wentling, a 5-10 senior guard, averaging 14.5 points, 4.8 rebounds, 7.8 assists and 3.0 steals.

Arlington junior Sierra Nichols (14.3 ppg, 9.0 rpg) and Carey senior Shelby Kin (18.7 ppg, 8.5 rpg) received honorable mention all-Ohio recognition, along with Ottoville sophomore Bridget Landin (11.2 ppg, 7.2 rpg).


Division IV

Julie Didinger, Danville, 5-8, sr., 21.4 points per game; Jensen Caretti, Hannibal River, 6-1, sr., 25.1; Brittany Knight, Windham, 5-9, sr., 21.0; Deja Winters, Richmond Heights, 5-10, sr., 27.0; Kamryn Troike, Fostoria St. Wendelin, 6-4, sr., 25.4; Dani Drayer, Waterford, 5-9, sr., 14.8; Allie Downing, New Madison Tri-Village, 5-10, jr., 19.5; Jessica Boerger, Fort Loramie, 5-10, sr., 15.0; Kacie Hall, South Webster, 5-6, sr., 17.8; Abi Rose, Granville Christian Academy, 5-2, sr., 15.8.

PLAYERS OF THE YEAR: Jensen Caretti, Hannibal River; Kamryn Troike, Fostoria St. Wendelin; Deja Winters, Richmond Heights.

COACHES OF THE YEAR: Lisa Stopp, Willoughby Cornerstone Christian Academy; Kevin Lakes, Hamilton New Miami.

Caitlyn Kroll, Bridgeport, 5-8, sr., 29.8; Lauren Shephard, Sugar Grove Berne Union, 5-8, sr., 13.1; Antonella LaMonica, Warren JFK, 5-0, jr., 19.8; Carson Roney, Beaver Eastern, 6-1, sr., 28.3; Elea Karras, Dayton Miami Valley School, 5-10, sr., 13.6; Sarah Loomis, Malvern, 6-3, sr., 21.4; Morgan Ondo, Fairport Harbor Fairport Harding, 5-2, sr.,12.5; Whitney Dodds, Arlington, 5-7, jr., 15.1; Hagen Schaefer, Portsmouth Notre Dame, 5-9, jr., 19.0; Megan King, Columbus Tree of Life Christian, 5-5, sr., 20.9.

Marissa Rose, Bellaire St. John Central, 5-7, sr., 19.6; Kennedy Schlabach, Berlin Hiland, 5-5, so., 17.5; Riley Hagy, Zanesville Bishop Rosecrans, 5-9, jr., 19.5; Machaela Harrison, North Ridgeville Lake Ridge Academy, 5-7, so., 17.0; India Snyder, Youngstown Valley Christian, 5-4, so., 21.0; Makea Scott, Richmond Heights, 5-8, sr.,16.0; Sydney Wentling, Carey, 5-10, sr., 14.5; Samantha Murphy, Fayetteville-Perry, 5-7, sr., 23.5; Payton Shays, New London, 6-1, sr., 12.3; Isabelle Bolender, Cedarville, 5-10, so., 17.5.

(Northwest Ohio only)
Hannah Blake, Montpelier; Molly Hammersmith, Ayersville; Kaela Seiler, Fayette.

(Northwest Ohio only)
Paige Jones, New Bremen; Shelby Kin, Carey; Erin Mohr, Haviland Wayne Trace; Madison Stolly, Lima Central Catholic; Emily Bauer, Convoy Crestview; Bridget Landin, Ottoville; Sierra Nichols, Arlington; Jenna Karl, New Washington Buckeye Central.