North Baltimore’s David Patterson, right, tries to take Arcadia’s Jordan McGowan back to the mat during their 138-pound match at Saturday’s Carey Classic. (Photo by Jamie Baker)

CAREY — North Baltimore’s David Patterson racked up an individual crown at 138 pounds and earned the Most Valuable Wrestler award at Saturday’s Carey Classic.
Patterson, who also recorded his 100th career victory during the tournament, cruised through his pool, recording two pins and two technical falls to reach the final.
He captured the crown by knocking off Lakota’s Darry Endicott 7-5 in the title bout.
Gibsonburg outscored Lakota 242-188 to claim the team title. Carey (150) was fourth. Findlay (136), Arcadia (133), McComb (100), Riverdale (97), North Baltimore (82) and Fostoria (21) followed in the team standings.
Host Carey finished with three champions.

Lakota’s Darry Endicott pins Findlay’s Avery Charles during their 138-pound match at Saturday’s Carey Classic. (Photo by Jamie Baker)

Kaiden Smiley won the 106-pound crown, Reece Mullholand whipped Findlay’s Andres Cruz 19-4 in the 113-pound final and returning state placer Tanner May pinned Gibsonburg’s Ethan Spoores in 3:33 for the 182-pound championship.
May’s 5-second pin of Gibsonburg’s Lucas Zamudio in a preliminary match is tied for 16th all-time, according to OHSAA records.
Lakota’s Logan Bloom pinned Bucyrus’ Cameron Bloomfield in 3:13 for the 132-pound crown. Teammate

North Baltimore’s David Patterson uses a head-and-arm pinning combination to put Arcadia’s Jordan McGowan on his back during their 138-pound match at Saturday’s Carey Classic. (Photo by Jamie Baker)

Trevor Franks pinned McComb’s Andrew Smith in 3:05 for the title at 152.
McComb also had a pair of champs.
Dylan Montgomery whipped Arcadia’s Bryan Harrison 12-4 at 120 pounds and Brice Markel pinned Bucyrus’ Joey Patterson in 1:31 at 220.
Arcadia’s John Hill claimed the 285-pound title with a 13-7 win over Lakota’s Dakota Klotz.
1, Gibsonburg 242. 2, Lakota 188. 3, Bucyrus 163. 4, Carey 150. 5, Findlay 136. 6, Arcadia 133. 7, McComb 100. 8, Riverdale 97. 9, North Baltimore 82. 10, Fostoria 21.
106 — Smiley (Car) won by forfeit
113 — Mullholand (Car) tech. fall Cruz (Fin) 19-4
120 — Montgomery (McC) maj. dec. Harrison (Arc) 12-4
126 — Garcia (Gib) dec. Smith (Fin) 6-1
132 — Bloom (Lak) pinned Bloomfield (Buc) 3:13
138 — Patterson (NB) dec. Endicott (Lak) 7-5
145 — Villareal (Gib) maj. dec. Owens (Fin) 19-6
152 — Franks (Lak) pinned Smith (McC) 3:06
160 — Jaso (Gib) dec. Parsell (Buc) 7-1
170 — Mendoza (Gib) pinned Shane (Riv) 3:17
182 — May (Car) pinned Spoores (Gib) 3:33
220 — Markel (McC) pinned Patterson (Buc) 1:31.
285 — J. Hill (Arc) dec. Klotz (Lak) 13-7
113 — Marczak (Arc) pinned Albright (Buc) 1:50
120 — Novotny (Gib) dec. Phadphom (Fin) 14-8
126 — Lucas (Arc) dec. Grine (Lak) 4-3
132 — Paul (Lak) pinned Benedict (Buc) 2:40
138 — W. Frey (Riv) maj. dec. Fulton (Buc) 14-2
145 — Dillon (McC) maj. dec. Gallegos (Riv) 14-0
152 — Arriaga (Giv) pinned Scott (Buc) 2:50
160 — Staley (NB) maj. dec. Lanagan (Fin) 8-0
170 — Martinez (Arc) pinned Sprague (Buc) 3:35
182 — Shipley (Lak) pinned Blakely (Riv) :41
220 — Stover (Riv) pinned Black (Car) :59
285 — Schlack (Car) dec. Halbisen (Gib) 1-0

Ludwig, Davis win titles
LIMA — Van Buren’s Tyler Ludwig and Cory-Rawson’s Deonte Davis both won individual championships to lead area wrestlers at Saturday’s Lima Senior Invitational.
Morrow Little Miami outscored Eastwood 306-213 for first place. Van Buren (130) tied for fifth, Cory-Rawson (118) was eighth and Ada tied for ninth among the 16 teams that competed.
Davis remained unbeaten for the Hornets as he raised his record to 19-0 with four pins and a 10-8 win over St. Marys Memorial’s Tyler Miller in the 182-pound final.
Zerich Magnall reached the title match at 220 pounds for the Hornets before being pinned by Little Miami’s Ben Blevins in 1:11.
Isaiah Colvin (138) finished third, Logan Korpics (160) was fifth, Kyle Martin (152) and Dylon Stoops (195) finished sixth, Tyler Stoodt (126) was seventh for Cory-Rawson.
Ludwig, meanwhile, dominated the 152-pound division for Van Buren with three pins and a decision in his preliminary matches. He improved his record to 18-1 by whipping Little Miami’s Tyler Rohs 12-3 in the final.
Dino Donaldson also had a strong tournament, finishing second at 120 pounds with a 12-4 loss to Little Miami’s Cole Gintert in the final.
Jake Emerine (170) was third, Kevin Beall (160) and Reese Young (195) finished fourth, Kaleb Snodgrass was sixth and Grant Young (113) and Andres Miranda (138) placed seventh for the Black Knights.
Ada returning state placer Chase Sumner suffered his first loss of the season when he was pinned in 47 seconds by Lima Bath’s Collin Mell in the 145-pound semifinals. Sumner, now 21-1, finished out the tournament with a win to end up third.
Colton Beiderman (106) and Xander White (182) finished fifth and Cameron Bober (138) and Adam Bailey (285) added sixth-place showings for the Bulldogs.

1, Morrow Little Miami 306. 2, Eastwood 213. 3, St. Marys Memorial 147. 4, Wauseon 146. 5, Van Buren & Paulding 130. 7, Lima Bath 124. 8, Cory-Rawson 118. 9, Greenville & Ada 76. 11, Spencerville 69. 12, Sidney Lehman 57. 13, Woodmore 56. 14, Lima Senior 40. 15, Toledo Rogers 39. 16, Lincolnview 15.