JAMIE BAKER / The Courier
Brad Metz can’t finish a takedown against Ashland University’s Jordan Murphy during the 184-pound championship match at Saturday’s NCAA Division II regional wrestling tournament at the University of Findlay’s Koehler Center.

If it weren’t for one call, one move or a couple of seconds on the clock, the University of Findlay could have had three NCAA Regional wrestling champions.
Instead, they had none.
The Roughnecks’ Josh Wimer, Brad Metz and Mimmo Lytle all lost close decisions in the finals to finish second in their respective weight classes at Saturday’s NCAA Division II regional wrestling tournament at the Koehler Center.
The one win the Roughnecks got in the final session came in the third-place match at 174 pounds. Nate Vandermeer got an early takedown against Tiffin’s Chase Boyd and used a cradle to score a fall in 1:54.
In all, the Roughnecks will send four wrestlers to next month’s NCAA Division II nationals in Cedar Rapids, Iowa.
“There were a couple of upsets that really hurt this weekend. I would have probably said we’d qualify five. Six could have happened too but didn’t,” said UF wrestling coach Shawn Nelson, the longest-tenured coach in the 14-team regional.
“All of them are ready and they are prepared. We’ve wrestled everyone we possibly could to get ready. We’ll take four and have four All-Americans.”
Wimer appeared to be on his way to victory on top of Wisconsin-Parkside’s Frank Yattoni, with a one-point lead and less than 10 seconds left. But the two got all tied up in a scramble with Wimer trying to stay in control.
The officials gave Yattoni an escape point at the buzzer for loss of control to tie the match at 6-6. A replay review confirmed the call. Yattoni, then, shot in for a single-leg takedown on the whistle in overtime for an 8-6 win.
Metz dropped a 3-2 decision to Ashland’s Jordan Murphy in the 184-pound title bout. The UF senior shot in on a deep double-leg takedown during the second period but was unable to finish it.
With the match tied 2-2, Murphy was awarded a point for his 1:01 of riding time, giving him a 3-2 win.
Lytle, meanwhile, battled to a 1-1 draw with Indianapolis’ Dylan Faulkenberg through regulation of their 285-pound championship match.
Lytle took a shot on the edge in overtime, Faulkenberg countered and got a takedown of his own for a 3-1 win.
Add in James Wimer’s loss in the fifth-place match at 157 pounds and it was a frustrating day for the Roughnecks.
“The challenge call at 149, two seconds of riding time for Brad was a loss and Mimmo in overtime. It was a tough afternoon,” Nelson said.
“The good thing is the guys are right there. There isn’t a lot for them to do but we do have time to work on some of those things. Those were mistakes that can be fixed.”
“It wasn’t technique or not being in shape it was more match-management issues. We harp on those guys to manage the match, minute by minute, period by period. Hopefully, we can fix that in two weeks,” he added.
1, Ashland 94. 2, Newberry 93. 3, Lake Erie 91. 4, Tiffin 78. 5, Indianapolis 73. 6, Findlay 69. 7, North Carolina-Pembroke 53. 8, Limestone 40. 9, King 39. 10, Coker 20. 11, Belmont Abbey 17. 12, Bellarmine 8. 13, Wisconsin-Parkside -1.
125 — Glogouski (LEC) maj. dec. Neal (NC) 17-9
133 — Furseth (UWP) pinned Whitely (NC) 5:10
141 — Crume (UI) dec. Killian (KU) 2-0
149 — Yattoni (UWP) dec. Jo. Wimer (UF) 8-6 OT
157 — Palmer (NC) dec. Shepperd (UWP) 10-4
165 — Romanazak (AU) dec. Vandermeer (LEC) 7-1
174 — Becker (UWP) pinned Price (AU) 3:38
184 — Murphy (AU) dec. Metz (UF) 3-2
197 — Cramer (AU) dec. Rudy (LC) 2-1
285 — Faulkenberg (UI) dec. Lytle (UF) 3-1 OT
125 — Daggett (UNCP) maj. dec. Corbit (LC) 15-4
133 — Kirk (KU) dec. Dudgeon (AU) 4-2
141 — Royal (NC) dec. LaVearn (TU) 9-7
149 — Grine (TU) dec. Makosy (UNCP) 6-5
157 — Milks (UNCP) dec. Minnick (TU) 4-1
165 — Shephard (UNCP) dec. Hilliard (BAC) 8-2
174 — Vandermeer (UF) pinned Boyd (TU) 1:54
184 — Hughes (LE) dec. Conner (UI) 5-0
197 — Palser (LEC) dec. Lehman (UWP) 6-4 OT
285 — Halverson (UWP) pinned Bland (LC) 3:25
125 — Vidika (AU) dec. Mutimer (UWP) 10-9
133 — Glogouski (LEC) won by forfeit
141 — Cheloni UWP) pinned O’Hearon (LEC) 2:05
149 — Wicken (NC) by forfeit over Goforth (KU)
157 — Lange (UI) maj. dec. Ja. Wimer (UF) 15-4
165 — Scoles (UWP) dec. Sams (BU) 8-1
174 — Kreich (UI) dec. Rocca (NC) 15-9
184 — Bronne (TU) pinned Price (UWP) 3:47
197 — Peguero (CC) dec. Mason (TU) 6-4
285 — Gossett (NC) dec. Houle (LEC) 7-6
Baker, 419-427-8409
Send an E-mail to Jamie Baker