Only one area high school basketball team will be changing divisions for next year’s postseason basketball tournament.

Van Buren’s girls squad will drop from Division III to Division IV after the OHSAA released its updated competitive balance numbers for the 2018-19 season Thursday.

The divisions are based on school enrollment with a competitive balance number added to produce an adjusted enrollment number. The base enrollment data didn’t change for the upcoming season.

Van Buren, which had no adjusted enrollment, is tied for the sixth largest school in Division IV at 116 girls.

Fellow Blanchard Valley Conference school Vanlue (26) is tied with Westerville Northside Christian as the smallest girls basketball playing school in Ohio.

Van Buren was among 12 teams getting bumped down to Division IV.

Other Northwest District teams affected include Convoy Crestview, Wynford, Lima Central Catholic and Lima Perry.

Plymouth moves up to Division III and Clear Fork to Division II.

No area boys teams changed divisions.

Defending Division II state champion Akron St. Vincent St. Mary’s is moving up to Division I, however.

Division II state semifinalist Meadowbrook Byesville dropped to Division III.

As for the Northwest District, Milan Edison is up to Division II.

Lima Central Catholic, Margaretta and Fort Recovery dropped to Division IV.

Statewide, Mason had the highest adjusted enrollment numbers at 1,306 on the girls side and 1,367 for the boys.

Findlay High’s boys and girls’ competitive balance number were each one, both up from zero last year.

Toledo St. Ursula, which went from Division II to Division I, had the highest girls competitive balance number of 86.

Cincinnati Moeller again had the highest boys competitive balance number of 194, up from 187 last year. Toledo Central Catholic’s 128 narrowly edged Toledo St. Francis’ 126 as the highest for the Northwest District.

The OHSAA Board of Directors also agreed to extend the 2019 prep baseball season by one week.

The state baseball tournament will be June 6-8 instead of May 30 to June 1.