COLUMBUS — Three former prep standouts are among 36 across the state that have been awarded college scholarships by the Ohio High School Athletic Association.

The Ohio High School Athletic Association and its six District Athletic Boards have awarded $164,750 in college scholarships to 191 recent high school graduates following selections made by each of the OHSAA’s six District Athletic Boards. The OHSAA’s annual college scholarship program is now in its 26th year.

Ottawa-Glandorf all-Ohio football and basketball player Jay Kaufman, state cross country runner-up and state track champion Brendan Siefker of Ottoville and Ada’s Chase Sumner, an all-Ohioan in both football and wrestling, were three of the seven athletes from the Northwest District to receive one of the $1,000 Scholar Athlete scholarships from the OHSAA.

In addition, Columbus Grove’s Taylor Ellerbrock (cross country, track) and Enoch Jones (football, wrestling), Ottawa-Glandorf’s Brooke Kleman (swimming), Kalida’s Taylor Lucke (track, cross country), Liberty-Benton’s Will Poling (track, football, basketball) and Miller City’s Abigail Schroeder were selected as Northwest District Scholar Athletes and will receive scholarship awards of between $500 and $1,000.

Scholar-athlete recipients are selected based on a point system which rewards students for grade point averages; class rank; ACT or SAT scores; varsity letters earned; and individual and team athletic honors. The number of scholarship recipients from each district are based upon the number of schools within the district. The recipients were selected by special committees within each of the OHSAA’s six athletic districts. Individuals who receive athletic scholarships from NCAA Division I or II institutions or appointees to military academies are not eligible for an award.

UF team honored

The University of Findlay’s volleyball team was honored as the American Volleyball Coaches Association revealed the recipients of their 2017-18 Team Academic Excellence Awards, a list that included a record 973 teams at both the high school and collegiate level

UF’s volleyball team earned the award for the 15th time in school history, which is tied for fifth all-time at the Division II level. The Oilers streak of 14 consecutive years with the award is the third-longest active streak in Division II.

The award began in 1992-93 and honors teams that display excellence in the classroom by finishing the year with a cumulative team grade point average of at least 3.30.

Gunka fires ace

ARLINGTON — Mary Gunka shot a hole-in-one Tuesday during play in the 18-hole Golferettes League at Sycamore Springs Golf Course.

Gunka used a 5-hybrid to ace the 100-yard No. 15 hole for her first career hole-in-one. Stacy Essinger and Teresa Kozarec witnessed the shot.

Findlay Implement wins

Findlay Implement rolled to a 14-3 4-inning win over Rustic Razor on Sunday to claim Findlay Youth Baseball’s Senior Division tournament championship.

Jackson Lane ripped three singles with two RBIs, Joe Girardi added a triple, single and four RBIs and Griffin Lane chipped in a pair of singles and an RBI for Findlay Implement.

Girardi and Will Hammer split time on the mound, each pitching two innings in the win.

They won the league title with a perfect 11-0 record and finished the season at 15-1 overall.