Liberty-Benton’s Savanah Richards netted the Blanchard Valley Conference’s top girls basketball award for the second straight year as the BVC released its all-conference selections for the 2018-19 season on Monday.

Richards was joined on the first team by teammate Caitlin Elseser, Hopewell-Loudon’s MaKayla Elmore, Arcadia’s Kennedy Pratt, Arlington’s Jenna Pepple and North Baltimore’s Alivia Light.


In addition, Liberty-Benton’s Nate Irwin was named the BVC Coach of the Year after leading the Eagles to a 21-1 regular-season record and unbeaten run through the conference.

Richards, Pratt, Elmore and Light, are all repeat first team selections.

Richards, who will continue her athletic and academic careers at Tiffin University, averaged 19.6 points per game and led the BVC in both steals (4.5) and assists (6.6) this season.

Elseser added 14.8 points per game while pulling down 7.0 rebounds and blocking 2.5 shots per game for the Eagles, who open the postseason tonight against Fostoria.

Elmore, a sophomore, led the BVC in scoring at 21.3 points per game. She was also among the conference leaders in rebounds (12.0), steals (3.7) and blocked shots (2.1).

Pratt, who will play collegiately at Hillsdale College, missed much of the second half of the season with a knee injury. She averaged 13.9 points and 7.9 rebounds per game for the Redskins. She also added 1.3 blocked shots per game.

Light, meanwhile, will join Richards at Tiffin University next season. She was third in the conference in scoring (17.9), second in assists (5.5) and steals (4.4) while still grabbing 5.4 rebounds per game for the Tigers.

Pepple led the Red Devils to another strong season as Arlington finished the regular season with an 18-4 record that included a 10-1 mark in the BVC. She scored 13.0 points per game with 3.1 steals and 2.3 assists per game.

Second-team all-BVC selections included Arlington senior Morgan Smith, Vanlue junior Emma Biller, McComb senior Alyssa Herr, Leipsic senior Peyton Henry, Liberty-Benton senior Sammy Shardo and Cory-Rawson sophomore Zoe Chisholm.

Arcadia’s Danielle Burnett, McComb’s Malorie Schroeder, Arlington’s Lindsay Dodds, Leipsic’s Claire Rigel, Hopewell-Loudon’s Olivia Zender and Van Buren’s Mady Parker was third team all-BVC.

All-BVC Girls Basketball


Savanah Richards, sr., Liberty-Benton; MaKayla Elmore, soph., Hopewell-Loudon; Kennedy Pratt, sr., Arcadia; Jenna Pepple, sr., Arlington; Caitlin Elseser, jr., Liberty-Benton; Alivia Light, sr., North Baltimore.

PLAYER OF THE YEAR — Savanah Richards, Liberty-Benton.

COACH OF THE YEAR — Nate Irwin, Liberty-Benton.


Morgan Smith, sr., Arlington; Emma Biller, jr., Vanlue; Alyssa Herr, sr.., McComb; Peyton Henry, sr., Leipsic; Sammy Shardo, sr., Liberty-Benton; Zoe Chisholm, soph., Cory-Rawson.


Danielle Burnett, sr., Arcadia; Malorie Schroeder, soph., McComb; Lindsay Dodds, jr., Arlington; Claire Rigel, sr., Leipsic; Olivia Zender, soph., Hopewell-Loudon; Mady Parker, jr., Van Buren.


ARLINGTON — Sarah Solt, sr.; Hannah Willow, sr. ARCADIA — Samantha Watkins, sr.; Reagan Pratt, soph.; CORY-RAWSON — Mackenzie Cascaden, soph.; Grace Roebke, soph. HOPEWELL-LOUDON — Makenzie Coleman, jr.; Hope Kreais, fr. LEIPSIC — Kacey Dulle, sr., Elizabeth Scheckelhoff, soph. LIBERTY-BENTON — Alissa Rhodes, jr.; Schy Shepherd, jr. McCOMB — Olivia Miehls, soph.; Lauren Grubb, sr. NORTH BALTIMORE — Grace Hagemuer, fr.; Leah Lee, jr. PANDORA-GILBOA — Lacie Fenstermaker, fr.; Regan Russell, soph. RIVERDALE — Brooke Kuenzli, sr.; Bry Vanden Bosch, sr. VAN BUREN — Breanna Tabler, soph.; Zoe Horne, jr. VANLUE — Maliah Snook, jr.; Bethany Smith, sr.