ADA — Ohio Northern University seniors Sam Shook and Maddy Reed were recipients of the school’s Clyde Lamb Award for the 2018-19 academic year.

The prestigious award is the highest honor given to Ohio Athletic Conference student-athletes each year, including one male and one female representative from each of the league’s 10 institutions. To receive the honor, an athlete must be a senior and have participated in an OAC-sponsored sport for at least two seasons, maintain a minimum 3.0 grade point average, and show sportsmanlike conduct in a manner that has brought credit to the student-athlete and his or her institution.

A left tackle on ONU’s football team, Shook was named First-Team All-America, Second-Team Associated Press All-America, First-Team All-North Region, First-Team All-OAC and the OAC Lineman-of-the-Year, and a Mayo Clinic CoSIDA Comeback Player of the Year.

Shook was a four-year letterman, three-time Academic All-OAC honoree and a two-time captain for the football program. He was a member of the Unity Council and a volunteer for the Special Olympics, the ONU youth football camp, and Victory Day.

A fourth-year pharmacy student at Ohio Northern, Reed competed on the women’s track and field team from 2016-2018.

During her career, Reed was the 2018 NCAA Division III national champion in the pole vault, a four-time All-American, a six-time All-Great Lakes Region honoree, a two-time OAC champion, a four-time All-OAC recipient, and the 2017 OAC Field Athlete of the Year during the indoor season. She also owns the indoor and outdoor pole vault records at ONU, the All-Ohio outdoor record, and became the first woman to vault 4.00 meters in OAC history.

In the classroom, she has been honored on the Dean’s List three times and been tabbed to the USTFCCCA All-Academic squad.

Carey’s Asher recognized

CAREY — Long-time Carey Athletic Director Kent Asher has received a Distinquiched Service Award from the Northwest Ohio Interscholastic Administrators Association.

The award is presented to an association member each year in recognition of their length of service, special accomplishments and contributions to athletic administration at the local, state and national levels.

Other NIAAA honors went to Wapakoneta’s Brad Rex (State Award of Merit), Gary Jones of New Bremen and Brett Purcell of Waynesfield-Goshen (OIAAA Athletic Administrator of the Year), former Ottawa-Glandorf principal and Northwest District Athletic Board member Bill Hanna (Meritorious Service Award), Gary Geller of Fremont St. Joseph (OIAAA Citation) and Toledo Central Catholic’s Greg Dempsey (OIAAA Horizon Award).

The OIAAA also announced the newest inductees into its Hall of Fame would be Dick Heath (Lima Shawnee) and Burt Fiser (New Bremen).