The landscape of Ohio high school sports went under its usual shake-up on Thursday as the Ohio High School Athletic Association announced the new divisional assignments for volleyball, basketball and soccer as well as the football regional assignments for 2019.

The divisional realignment affected 15 area programs across the three sports — six being girls basketball teams.

The biggest changes happened in Division III girls basketball as Upper Sandusky dropped down from Division II and Carey, Lakota, Van Buren and Riverdale each moved up from Division IV.

Fostoria also left Division III and is now the third-smallest Division II school.

On the boys side, Upper Sandusky moved up to Division II, Riverdale up to Division III and Carey dropped to Division IV.

Those three schools’ volleyball programs each will now compete in Division III with Carey and Riverdale moving up and Upper Sandusky moving down.

Hopewell-Loudon also moved up to Division III in volleyball.

In soccer, which only has three divisions, one girls team and one boys team were affected.

Upper Sandusky’s girls moved down to Division III from Division II.

Liberty-Benton’s boys moved up to Division II from Division III.

For football, nine area schools changed divisions in last week’s release.

The biggest change Thursday is a split among the Northwest region schools for Division VI — now spanning Region 22 and Region 23.

Area schools in Region 22 include Carey and Hopewell-Loudon, while area Region 23 schools are Ada, Bluffton, Columbus Grove, Riverdale and Van Buren.

Hopewell-Loudon and Riverdale each made the jump up from Division VII, while Van Buren dropped down from Division IV.

It also resulted in a near halving of the Region 22 playoff schools from last year.

Regional champ Seneca East, Jeromesville Hillsdale, Carey and Loudonville all remained in Region 22. Columbus Grove, Fairview and Gibsonburg all moved to Region 23 while Northwood was the lone school to move up to Division V.

Fostoria, Ottawa-Glandorf and Upper Sandusky all moved up to Division IV and will compete in Region 14. O-G moves in with fellow Western Buckeye League school St. Marys Memorial, which won the region last year.

Lakota and Liberty-Benton each moved up to Division V and will compete in Region 18.

There were no area changes in Division VII.