COLUMBUS –Findlay High’s Lexie Layne, a four-time all-Ohio diver for the FHS swim team, is one of eight local and area student athletes selected to receive a scholarship through the Ohio High School Athletic Association.

Also earning OHSAA scholarships were Liberty-Benton’s Chloe Miller, Van Buren’s Connor Ohlrich, Pandora-Gilboa’s Riley Larcom, Ottawa-Glandorf’s Ashley Schroeder and Ethan White, Kalida’s Grant Laudick and Ottoville’s Quinley Schlagbaum.

Scholarship awards winners were selected from each of Ohio’s six athletic districts based on a point system which rewards students for grade point averages, class rank, ACT or SAT scores, varsity letters earned, and individual and team athletic honors.

VonLehmden leads field

Justy VonLehmden carded the best round of the day, a 4-over-par 76, to win the boys 14-15 age division of the Findlay Area Golf Association tournament held Monday at Hillcrest Golf Club.

Brice McDaniel posted an 84 to edge Hunter Baker (85) by a stroke in the boys 16-18 division, Ryan Montgomery scored a playoff win over Noah Miles in the 12-13 competition after both fired 89s, and Payson Dotson’s 47 topped the 10-11 group.

In the girls portion of the tournament, Claire Recker’s 86 was two shots better than Kiley Cline (88) in the 14-18 division, and Jenna Brown posted a 62 to capture the 10-13 age title.

Findlay Area Golf Association


BOYS 16-18: 1, Brice McDaniel, 84; 2, Hunter Baker, 85; 3, Max Greenawalt, 96.

BOYS 14-15: 1, Justy VonLehmden, 76; 2, Henry Rill, 82; 3, Ethan Lammers, 84.

BOYS 12-13: x-1, Ryan Montgomery, 89; 2, Noah Miles, 89; 3, Ryan Clarke, 95.

BOYS 10-11: 1, Payson Dotson, 47; 2, Dylan Kimmel, 51; 3, Blake Hartman, 52.

GIRLS 14-18: 1, Claire Recker, 86; 2, Kiley Cline, 88; 3, Taylor Adams, 91.

GIRLS 10-13: 1, Jenna Brown, 62; 2, Ava Metz, 63; 3, Abanna Dotson, 77.

Wheeler nets ace

NORTH BALTIMORE — Mike Wheeler score a hole-in-one at Birch Run Golf Course, acing the 131-yard No. 6 hole with a 9-iron.

Witnessing the shot were George Williamson, Jim Wilkinson and Pat Pachlhofer.