Findlay High’s Jacob Gangle and Carson Dale earned first-team honors in the 2019 Three Rivers Athletic Conference all-league boys soccer selections.

Two midfielders for the Trojans, Gangle, a senior, and Dale, a junior, led Findlay to a 3-3-1 record in TRAC matches and 9-7-3 overall record. Toledo St. John’s went unbeaten (7-0) in league play. Toledo St. Francis (5-1-1) and Oregon Clay (5-1-1) tied for second, with Findlay and Toledo Central Catholic tied for fourth.


Senior Nolan Clouse and sophomore Andrew Allsop were second-team all-TRAC picks for Findlay. Seniors Graham Hartman and Michael Copland and sophomore Nick Simmermeyer received honorable mention all-TRAC recognition.

St. John’s senior Joey Akpunonu was selected the 2019 TRAC Player of the Year. Central Catholic took home the other top awards, with C.J. Buchele tabbed the TRAC Goalkeeper of the Year and Chad Lillich named the league’s coach of the year.

2019 All-TRAC Boys Soccer


TOLEDO ST. JOHN’S — Joey Akpunonu, Sr.; Deion Vartorella, Sr.; Aion Morton-Wizgen, So. TOLEDO CENTRAL CATHOLIC — CJ Buchele, Sr.; Brett Bishop, Sr. FINDLAY — Jacob Gangle, Sr.; Carson Dale, Jr. OREGON CLAY — Ruger Wamer, Sr.; Keeghan Calkins, Jr. TOLEDO ST. FRANCIS — Jarrett Puckett, Sr.; Nick Kenner, Sr. TOLEDO WHITMER — Austin Gibbons, Jr. LIMA SENIOR — Caden Fry, Sr. FREMONT ROSS — Mason DeWalt, Sr.

PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Joey Akpunonu, Toledo St. John’s.

GOALKEEPER OF THE YEAR: C.J. Buchele, Toledo Central Catholic.

COACH OF THE YEAR: Chad Lillich, Toledo Central Catholic.


TOLEDO ST. JOHN’S — Dany Salim, Jr.; Will Skaff, Jr.; Mark Hankish, Sr. TOLEDO CENTRAL CATHOLIC — Amarr Zarrief, So.; Cole Tishler, So. FINDLAY — Andrew Allsop, So.; Nolan Clouse, Sr. OREGON CLAY — Zach Rowe, Sr.; Ethan Spears, Jr. TOLEDO ST. FRANCIS — Noah Sharrit, Sr.; Zade Awad, So. TOLEDO WHITMER — Gaven Sloan, Jr. LIMA SENIOR — Josh Keys, Jr. FREMONT ROSS — Carter Durbin, Jr.

Honorable Mention

TOLEDO CENTRAL CATHOLIC — Jacob Peters, Jr.; Xander York, Jr.; Bob Dunning, Sr. OREGON CLAY — Austin Murphy, Sr.; Angelo Cuttaia, So.; Scott Woollard, Jr. FINDLAY — Graham Hartman, Sr.; Michael Copeland, Sr.; Nick Simmermeyer, So. FREMONT ROSS — Brady Wolfe, Jr.; Cesar Flores, Sr.; Alec Slemmer, Sr. LIMA SENIOR — Andrew Zell, Jr.; Keanen Grundisch, Jr.; Aaron Bowsher, So. TOLEDO ST. FRANCIS — Layne Young, Sr.; Kamden Ohrt, Sr.; Andrew Bell, Sr. TOLEDO ST. JOHN’S — Joe Colella, Jr.; Cameron Doyle, So.; Jacob Rashid, Fr. TOLEDO WHITMER — Logan Burns, Jr.; Donald Wingate, Jr.; Conner Savidge, Jr.